odd, no co2 reading?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2005, 10:34 PM   #1
chard
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 48
Default

odd, no co2 reading?


I posted this on another thread, but I'm getting almost no reading on my co2. I have a 29 gallon moderatly planted tank, water is naturally hard...ph7.6 or higher....and I'm running a hagens ladder and a Red Sea reactor with a diy force reactor in the tank. After some time there is still no reading on my lowering of the ph value in the tank. I just removed 3 large limestone rocks I was using for decoration trying to to see if that prevented me from seeing any measurable effects. Anyone have any further ideas? Both co2 systems are putting out a decent stream of bubbles, the hagen works like a charm and the reactor (one built based on a design from a posting here) churns the bubbles in the reactor very nicely. I just dont understand why it doesnt seem to be adding co2 to the tank.
chard is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-22-2005, 10:59 PM   #2
shalu
Wannabe Guru
 
shalu's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,675
Default

My guess is your ph kit max out at 7.6? It could be it was much higher before, say 8.4, now it might be 7.7, and you won't notice anything on your ph kit.
__________________
Truvu 100g Flourite, wet/dry, AHSupply 302w PC, PinPoint controller
10gallon15w T6+15w T8
55gallon40w T6 ODNO4x, no CO2. Discus grow out.
10gallon Tonina tank, 2x15w T6 ODNO 4x
---------------------
I will do aquascapes after I collect all the plant species and grow them to perfection.
shalu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 02:40 AM   #3
WfxXx
Planted Tank Guru
 
WfxXx's Avatar
 
PTrader: (125/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 3,037
Send a message via ICQ to WfxXx
Default

Also limestone is the worst rock you could place in you're tank, it will dissolve creating havok on you're parameter's. you will have to give it a few days or so and maybe a couple of H20 changes to reach normal again.
__________________
Craig
WfxXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 03:47 AM   #4
chard
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 48
Default

Damn, it's like magic! Removed the rock and presto, the ph lowered and I have a nice bright green on my co2 tester....process of elimination. Thanks guys for your help
chard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012