First Attempt - Planted Nano Tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 10-16-2012, 02:07 AM   #1
RobMc
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Talking

First Attempt - Planted Nano Tank

Hi fish tank people! I have a betta fish currently living in a small bowl and wanted to do something nice for him. This is my first attempt at planting an aquarium so I hope it works out.

It's an 8 gal planted Fluval Flora with - Anubias / Crypt / Micro Sword / Java Fern / Wysteria / random betta bulb

The wysteria should fill in the back / grow taller. My main concern is aeration in the front.

I hope the thin layer of sand allows enough gas exchange with the substrate.

Hardscape: (Found / boiled - driftwood / rocks) Fluval substrate / AQ sand

The Rest:

Minnows for the Cycle:
RobMc is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-16-2012, 02:38 AM   #2
CatSoup
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobMc View Post
Minnows for the Cycle:
The tank looks good, but please take these guys back to the LFS so that they don't have to suffer through the cycle. Your tank will cycle just fine without fish having to be in the ammonia.
CatSoup is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2012, 02:44 AM   #3
RobMc
Planted Member

I will be doing regular water changes and have introduced beneficial bacteria directly to the filter / gravel. I don't intend on killing them with their own waste - I just need an experimental fish to insure that the conditions are safe for my betta.

Thanks,
Rob
RobMc is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2012, 02:45 AM   #4
NWA-Planted
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (10/100%)

Tank is looking good

Sent from a dark corner in my happy place
Sump Pimp #8