100% CO2 diffusion reactor for $25??
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2002, 12:57 AM   #1
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

OK, I was just searching for CO2 stuff, as I can't wait till I get a pressurized system, the yeast method is soooo unpredictable. Anyway, I came along this "reactor", which they called a diffuser. It can be seen here CLICK ME!!.

Now, I am not getting my hopes up, because it seems like one of those "too good to be true" things. Also, I don't know the exact size of it, but how does it work?? I don't see anywhere even an intake tube slot for CO2 or anything, I'm sorda suspicious. Has anyone had any experience with this reactor or is it even for injecting pressurized CO2? I just need to tweak my powerhead/gravel cleaner reactor, but if I could get this thing, it would be a lot easier. Anyone got info on it?

-Tim
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-28-2002, 11:32 PM   #2
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

A diffuser works by atomizing the co2 gas into very fine mist-like bubbles that'll disolve more readily into the water column. I have several "theoretical" problems with them. I say this because I don't use one and I don't know anybody that does.
1)the membrane seems like it could get clogged easily with contaminants in the gas supply or the water column which could render it useless.
2)If there isn't a sufficient current running past the "mist" a lot of the gas could escape to the surface of the tank.
I think that problem #1 is probably a very real scenario. IMO, I think you should tweak your gravel tube reactor a little more.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2002, 02:26 AM   #3
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

Thanks for the reply. While under certain circumstances, it would probably work, but wouldn't for me. Water changes, water changes, water changes.....

-Tim
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you use a normal airstone for CO2 diffusion? hubbahubbahehe General Planted Tank Discussion 12 01-10-2004 01:29 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012