gnod's 3gallon long: new update 1/2/14 with pictures!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2013, 11:38 PM   #1
gnod
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ny ny
Posts: 1,565
Default

gnod's 3gallon long: new update 1/2/14 with pictures!


well i'm back in it. just couldn't stay away.. haha
after a long and hot summer, and losing many of my lifestock to hot temperatures.. i took a break cause i just couldn't deal with the heat!

but im back. and here's my new scape for now. haven't decided on much yet..

i wasn't sure what exactly i was going for. i wanted a simple and clean look with a good sense of depth. it's a bit challenging with such a shallow and narrow tank. i'm not set on it though and it'll probably change.

tank: 3 gallon DBP tank
substrate: aqua soil africana (just wanted to try something new)
light: none but maybe finnex ray 2 18 inch though i may need to pump co2 at this height
plants: tbd

scape 1

scape 1 closer up

scape 2

scape 2 (fixed the rock on the left)


what do you guys think?

Last edited by gnod; 01-03-2014 at 01:58 AM.. Reason: update
gnod is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2013, 11:41 PM   #2
MlDukes
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
MlDukes's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: MO
Posts: 924
Default

Nice start, i like the first! What are the dimensions of a 3 long?
MlDukes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 11:43 PM   #3
xmas_one
Planted Tank Guru
 
xmas_one's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,250
Default

Scape one looks awesome! I'd be tempted to put a little 60's sci-fi rocket in there.
xmas_one is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 11:46 PM   #4
gnod
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ny ny
Posts: 1,565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MlDukes View Post
Nice start, i like the first! What are the dimensions of a 3 long?
18" L x 6" W x 7" H

Quote:
Originally Posted by xmas_one View Post
Scape one looks awesome! I'd be tempted to put a little 60's sci-fi rocket in there.
haha 60's sci rocket? not sure what that is but thanks for the compliments to you both.

i have a tendency to always somehow make my scapes end up looking like some mountain scape. i don't know why but i can't ever get that out of my head..
gnod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 11:55 PM   #5
gnod
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ny ny
Posts: 1,565
Default

one more for tonight.
gnod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 11:31 PM   #6
gnod
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ny ny
Posts: 1,565
Default

here's where it is today, just moved it around a bit more.


gnod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 12:47 AM   #7
BeastMaster
Darth Rimless
 
BeastMaster's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 547
Default

I like scape 1. What kinds of flora are you going to plant in your 3L?
__________________
Eheim Pimp #540 Finnex Member #11 ADA Gentleman #6 60F Club 12G Club 60P Club BeastMaster Project Tanks
BeastMaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 01:04 AM   #8
gnod
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ny ny
Posts: 1,565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeastMaster View Post
I like scape 1. What kinds of flora are you going to plant in your 3L?
i ordered a bunch of stuff without really planning it. so far definitely micro sword.. i got some glosso as that's been the only plants i've had real good success with.

i also got some h.c. i hate this plant but i want to try again for sure.
i also have some m.p. i plan to glue to the rocks. speaking of rocks, i think i got a scape i really like. it looks natural to me. i'll have it up after i tinker with it a bit more!
gnod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 01:00 AM   #9
gnod
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ny ny
Posts: 1,565
Default

so you know how some threads have all these photos starting from beginning of the tank and to the matured tank? and how none of the photos seem to have any algae? ...

well mine does. and i need some help!
the algae wasn't this bad up until the last 2 days. i'm not sure why but i think my co2 valve must have loosened cause it was coming out much stronger than intended. i was slowly adjusting the dosing to see what would happen (i'm using aqua vitro for now) but in the midst of the co2 going from say..2bps to what looked like 6 bps, i have to say this is from too much co2?

this is hair algae correct?


please disregard the tooth brush. i was about to scrub the crap out of everything before this post..but wanted some feedback.







i'm planning to raise the night a bit on this bad boy finnex ray 2.
gnod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 01:03 AM   #10
AquaAurora
Planted Tank Guru
 
AquaAurora's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: south eastern PA
Posts: 2,309
Default

whats your photo period? I learned (from asking) it may be better to shorten or break up (lights on, off a while, then on again) to reduce algae
__________________
3g bowl, 2g jar, & 0.5g Vase 3g 7g Cube 10g 20g long riparium 55g aquaponics
Coming Soon: 12g long journal (will make a journal.. someday..)
M.T.S.? ...Nahh
AquaAurora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 01:18 AM   #11
gnod
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ny ny
Posts: 1,565
Default

Right now it's about 6.5 hrs. Which I don't think is a lot from reading here. Something is definitely off tho in my tank. I started to see signs of algae a week ago and in the last 2 days it really came out. I am doing wc weekly also.
gnod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 01:27 AM   #12
samee
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
samee's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada & US
Posts: 914
Default

hmm could be a few things that are wrong. Too much nutrients could be an issue. Too little and the plants would have holes in them. No idea what product contains that you use, but macro and trace are essential. There also seems to be crud on your moss, is the sub. clean?
__________________
My Most Unimaginative Tank on Plantedtank > http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...082&highlight=

My Hens and Chicks Plants > http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...722&highlight=

samee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 02:05 AM   #13
Wolf19
Planted Member
 
Wolf19's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary
Posts: 221
Default

What are you doing for CO2?

Algae usually boils down to (1) Poor application of CO2 ... and (2) too much lighting. I would cut your lighting down to 4 hours.
__________________
Wolf19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 02:39 AM   #14
theericafish
Planted Member
 
theericafish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: CA/Bay Area
Posts: 246
Default

Usually in a new setup you will get a lot of diatoms and the diatoms string together to look like hair algae. If its brown its diatoms if you pull it out and hold it under the light it and its a neon green color could be hair algae or spirogyra(which is difficult to remove). http://www.theplantedtank.co.uk/algae.htm

With 7inch height on the tank the ray2 is probably about around 5 inches off the substrate, thats a lot of par. (not sure if tank is cycled) Try adding some nerite snails. For a small tank 1 or 2 horned nerite snails will take care of diatoms on the glass(the larger ones like olive and zebra nerites have not done well for me in my setups but the smaller ones seem to do fine). 2 or 3 amano shrimp will help a lot too. http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=184368

I would also suggest adding some floating plants, duckweed, or salvinia minima if you can find some in your area. That will help reduce the par of the ray2 and absorb excess nutrients. Ideally the light should be at least 10inches off the substrate in my opinion, even with a shortened lighting period you are asking for trouble.

You can also try dimming the light with window screen(the kind so bugs cant get into your house through the windows).
theericafish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 03:06 AM   #15
AquaAurora
Planted Tank Guru
 
AquaAurora's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: south eastern PA
Posts: 2,309
Default

I found high nitrates encouraged algae blooms even with limited lighting period and lots of plants, have you done any water tests? Whats your nitrate at?
__________________
3g bowl, 2g jar, & 0.5g Vase 3g 7g Cube 10g 20g long riparium 55g aquaponics
Coming Soon: 12g long journal (will make a journal.. someday..)
M.T.S.? ...Nahh
AquaAurora is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012