Aquasoil and Ammonia Spikes
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 01:24 AM   #1
Gafi
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 671
Default

Aquasoil and Ammonia Spikes


is it safe to heavily plant a freshly setup tank with aquasoil as the substrate.....do the ammonia levels get too high? Should i be doing daily/every other day water changes for a few days? Thoughts?
Gafi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-10-2012, 01:38 AM   #2
fplata
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
fplata's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL, United States
Posts: 948
Default

Yes it is safe and even recommended that you heavily plant with aqua soil, it's also recommend that you change 50% plus of your water daily for the first week, every other day the second week, every 3rd on the 3rd and so on, that ammonia will help with you cycling
fplata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 02:04 AM   #3
Gafi
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 671
Default

perfect....i was missing the water change timing, so thats excellent! Thanks!
Gafi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:28 AM   #4
P015
Algae Grower
 
P015's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 83
Default

Sorry, not to threadjack, but what if you already have an established tank and are switching out the regular gravel with aquasoil? I do have about 6 neons in my 29 gallon, and a few plants, but that's it.

Any advice how I can go about switching the substrate, without having the Ammonia spikes kill my fish?
P015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:51 AM   #5
Vincent Tran
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P015 View Post
Sorry, not to threadjack, but what if you already have an established tank and are switching out the regular gravel with aquasoil? I do have about 6 neons in my 29 gallon, and a few plants, but that's it.

Any advice how I can go about switching the substrate, without having the Ammonia spikes kill my fish?
Put the aquasoil in a bucket to let it leech out its ammonia. Do water changes for about a month or when it stops leeching. Afterward, let the water dry completely and then put the dry aquasoil in the tank.
Vincent Tran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 03:03 AM   #6
P015
Algae Grower
 
P015's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 83
Default

Alright thank you for the suggestion Vincent Tran, I will order my Aquasoil tonight and start that process when it arrives.
P015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012