Anyone ever use this stuff?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 03:51 AM   #1
aquarist
Wannabe Guru
 
aquarist's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,382
Default

Anyone ever use this stuff?


Hey everyone,
I am going to be setting up a 30 gallon grow out tank. I was looking online to try to find a good deal on some decent plant substrate when I came across this stuff called, Aquadurt, you can see it here

http://www.aquariumplants.com/Produc...de=SS&CartID=1

I was just wondering if anyone has heard of this and if its a decent substrate. It seem pretty affordable so I was thinking of trying it out, but wanted to see what people had to say about it first. So if anyone has used this or heard of it at least let me know!
aquarist is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-06-2012, 04:05 AM   #2
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (75/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,974
Default

It looks like that company is branching out with a different substrate than they used to sell. I haven't seen any, nor read anything about it, but it looks interesting. Why don't you try it and let us know what it is like?
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2012, 04:26 AM   #3
storrisch
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: minneapolis, mn
Posts: 148
Default

I have the black one. It is very light and can be tough to get plants to stay down in. Color and grain size is very nice though.
__________________
Garrett Brueland

The Fraternity of Dirt #52
storrisch is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2012, 09:01 PM   #4
aquarist
Wannabe Guru
 
aquarist's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,382
Default

Thanks for the input you two. I think I am going to give it a try after I do some more research online about it. Just don't want to spend all my substrate money on a bucket of stuff I can't use.

Anyone else have a comment about this stuff though? Didn't really see much about it on TPT so if anyone else has used this or heard of anyone that has let me know =)

Hey Storrich, you said you had a hard time getting plants to stay down, I was wondering if you had this problem with all plants or just some, like fresh cut stems with no roots for example. If the substrate works well but doesn't hold plants well, I might just put a thin layer or gravel on top to help out some.
aquarist is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-07-2012, 04:53 AM   #5
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (440/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,559
Default

Don't go this route if you have sensitive livestock or have a concern about altered water parameters.

When I tried it, TDS jumped about 300 (literally) no matter what I did.

In my opinion, you can get better product by spending $5 on a bag of Safe-T-Sorb or Turface.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-07-2012, 09:12 PM   #6
aquarist
Wannabe Guru
 
aquarist's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,382
Default

Cool, I heard of people using oil dri or something like that but it sounded weird lol. I may just have to try it though!!
aquarist is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2012, 04:20 AM   #7
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 8,288
Default

Sure looks a lot like Turface.

http://www.turface.com/turface-produ...ace-pro-league
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2012, 01:12 PM   #8
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (440/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,559
Default

Diana: I'm pretty sure it is. Though, they make the product even dirtier... if that's possible.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2012, 03:31 AM   #9
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 8,288
Default

I have several tanks with Soil Master Select, and have seen the original product that came in a red bucket. Looked just like it.
I have several tanks with Turface.
I just did a tank with Safe-T-Sorb.

I did not rinse any of these before putting them in the tank. The Safe-T-Sorb should have been rinsed, so I rinsed it in the tank, doing 2 water changes while stirring the material a LOT. The third filling was really clean.

I have lots of buckets...
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2012, 04:53 PM   #10
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (440/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,559
Default

On a semi-related note... how do you feel about the appearance of Turface versus Safe-T-Sorb?
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2012, 01:30 AM   #11
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 8,288
Default

I do not like Turface. It is too bright.

I like the multi-colored effect of the STS, the subtle browns and greys look very natural.
I also like the SMS. I have the charcoal color. The dark color makes a good background so the fish and plants stand out.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2012, 02:09 AM   #12
weezel77
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Bend
Posts: 55
Default

i have the natural amazon. while it looks nice its a pain in the ass to get plants to stay rooted. can not for the life of me get dwarf hair grass to stay down kuli loaches just keep uprooting. i bought what i thought was a five gallon bucket size turns out to be way more than a 5 gallon bucket as i had enough for three inches in a 38 gal tank, 3 inches in a 20 gal tank and about 2 10 gallon tank and still have a little over half a bucket left.
weezel77 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012