Question about GSA and light.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 04:27 PM   #1
5BodyBlade
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
5BodyBlade's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Westport, MA
Posts: 362
Default

Question about GSA and light.


I've recently solved my green spot algae problem by raising my lights and dropping from 10 hours to 8. But I was wondering if light is the main factor in GSA then why does it seem to affect the bottom leaves and lower part of the glass? I'm not just talking fast growing stems where new growth over takes older gsa riddled leaves making it look as if the bottom got it worse. The bottom leaves of my crypts would have lots of gsa while being covered by large healthy upper leaves. And the bottom portion of my glass would be loaded while a few inches from the light would clear.
__________________
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...49#post4205849

40B, T5HO, Turface, pressurized co2,EI dosing
5BodyBlade is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2012, 05:08 PM   #2
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

I noticed zero GSA above the water change line back when I had GSA. It doesn't like being dried out. Just now I noticed my external overflow box's u tube that refuses to stay full hasn't any GSA while the full u tube has lots of GSA.

Perhaps the new leaves are more vigorous and able to shake off the algal spores?

When I increased the amount of phosphate dosed there ceased to be any GSA in the tank proper. I wonder if my snails and otos can graze it better now in the tank and cannot get to the u tube to clean it off?
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-07-2012, 06:34 PM   #3
tetra73
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,782
Default

What is your phosphate level? GSA is the result of insufficient phosphate level + high light. I will get GSA when my phosphate level is below 5ppm. The first area I would see them is near the water surface, near the light source. I think 8 hours of light is enough. You may not need to elevate your light at all if you have sufficient level of phosphate.
__________________

Canon Pimp Club #005
tetra73 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2012, 02:15 PM   #4
5BodyBlade
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
5BodyBlade's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Westport, MA
Posts: 362
Default

I tried the increased phosphate levels and got them to around 5ppm. Haven't checked them in a while, but when I did it didn't slow or stop any gsa. Maybe I didn't go high enough or for long enough.
__________________
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...49#post4205849

40B, T5HO, Turface, pressurized co2,EI dosing
5BodyBlade is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2012, 02:37 PM   #5
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

Maybe there isn't enough CO2 in the water as well?

What algae eaters do you have? I don't think it is my brilliant tank managing that is keeping algae away, I really think if you have it right it helps but but algae eaters do a lot of work as well. After the time a small ramshorn returned to a tiny sword plant for a couple days in a row and completely removed GSA that completely covered one leaf I know they are doing a lot for the tank. That tank had a monster case of GW at the time and after the water cleared I saw no GSA. Whether the GW created a situation where the GSA softened or there wasn't any of the other algae growing due to the GW I don't know.

I dose half the phosphate as the nitrate and haven't any idea how much that is, tops the phosphate chart. I could dilute tank with my zero phosphate tap water to see how much I have but haven't yet. Plants look better as well, a more vibrant color.
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012