DIY Aquarium Touchscreen Controller - Page 9
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 07:22 PM   #121
bigd603
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crowndroyal View Post
Thanks BigD thats awesome whats the dimensions of this touch screen ? still wondering how big it is.


I am off to work myself so chat later.
No problem, its a 3.2" touch screen.
bigd603 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2013, 07:58 PM   #122
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,192
Default

biiiigd, that post is a huge boon to anyone trying to get started. thanks
scapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:13 PM   #123
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,258
Default

Don't forget that you can add a relay board (to control things) and also an ethernet/wireless shield if you want to control things via a web interface.

Besides the DS1307 RTC, you can also consider using the DS3231 chip; it does not cost significantly more than the DS1307.

Something like this (though this is an old photo; I've cleaned up the wiring, added a few components and switched to the TFT LCD Touchscreen)

__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:21 PM   #124
scapegoat
Planted Tank Guru
 
scapegoat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 2,192
Default

the hardware aspect is hellishly confusing to me, because I've never gotten this far into components. I can put together a PC no problem...

is the relay board an electrical relay?
scapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:23 PM   #125
bigd603
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 260
Default

That RTC chip looks pretty cool, DarkBlade, thanks for pointing that out!

Is that pH probe the same as e Bay item 170752579436? I've been thinking about snagging it but dont know if it's any good. Are pH probes a "you get what you pay for" kinda thing? Also, what board are you connecting the probe to?
bigd603 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 01:08 AM   #126
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scapegoat View Post
the hardware aspect is hellishly confusing to me, because I've never gotten this far into components. I can put together a PC no problem...

is the relay board an electrical relay?
The relay board is just an electrical switch that controls a mains line. When a 5V signal is sent to it, it will open. You can get the standard mechanical relays, or the more expensive solid state ones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigd603 View Post
That RTC chip looks pretty cool, DarkBlade, thanks for pointing that out!

Is that pH probe the same as e Bay item 170752579436? I've been thinking about snagging it but dont know if it's any good. Are pH probes a "you get what you pay for" kinda thing? Also, what board are you connecting the probe to?
I personally like the DS3231 chip, since the DS1307 does seem to drift. The libraries are interchangeable, so there is no extra work involved.

I just got my pH probe locally; cost me $15. The one I am using seems to work fine. I am connecting the probe to a pH meter breakout board; there are lots out there. I got this one from a friend who had a spare. You can build your own for ~$10-15, and save some money, though (I was going to go this route).
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:48 AM   #127
crowndroyal
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: sarnia
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkblade48 View Post
Don't forget that you can add a relay board (to control things) and also an ethernet/wireless shield if you want to control things via a web interface.

Besides the DS1307 RTC, you can also consider using the DS3231 chip; it does not cost significantly more than the DS1307.

Something like this (though this is an old photo; I've cleaned up the wiring, added a few components and switched to the TFT LCD Touchscreen)

as I was working I was thinking about this, on how people would plug in a probe etc to monitor/control their PH, co2, salinity, temp etc.

my other concern was how small the screen is I was hoping to have a screen at least 6x6 inches so it could be easily seen from a distance. Maybe something we could look into?

Dark PM me to please I have an idea I want to run by you that is kinda off topic.
crowndroyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:56 AM   #128
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crowndroyal View Post
as I was working I was thinking about this, on how people would plug in a probe etc to monitor/control their PH, co2, salinity, temp etc.
pH is usually with a standard BNC
CO2 probes are expensive; do you plan to purchase one?
Salinity is not really needed in a planted aquarium. But they are also BNC.
Temperature is just with the DS18B20 from Dallas. You can put it into a waterproof container and it will work fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crowndroyal View Post
my other concern was how small the screen is I was hoping to have a screen at least 6x6 inches so it could be easily seen from a distance. Maybe something we could look into?
6x6 inches is quite large; I assume you want it to be touch screen too? It will be quite expensive.

To get an idea, the iPad measures 9 x 7 inches.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crowndroyal View Post
Dark PM me to please I have an idea I want to run by you that is kinda off topic.
You could PM me too, you know...
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:33 AM   #129
drhemlock2
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: rushville, indiana
Posts: 85
Default wireless interesting

i have my jarduino working and i am making the individual probes and sensor boards etc. darkblade you mentioned wireless i have been trying to figure out how to run the temperature probes wirelesslyusing a wireless shield. i already have a web shield working and have done some research on using a radio freq to control them two i plan to use wirelessly do you have another idea? i am not aware of any working code using a wireless web shield i think jamie TheDOdblG on UK Reefs the author of Jardunio is looking into it but is limited in time do you have some code to look at? i have also thought of doing a ph probe also remote just for giggles and practice. perhaps you can direct me to some cheaper probes then i have seen on fleabay. i am very interested in this project and hae already signed onto the mentioned website in this thread for collaboration on the bells and whistles as well as DIY projects any help would be great.
doc

Last edited by drhemlock2; 01-22-2013 at 09:40 AM.. Reason: further info and spelling
drhemlock2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:36 AM   #130
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drhemlock2 View Post
i have my jarduino working and i am making the individual probes and sensor boards etc. darkblade you mentioned wireless i have been trying to fogure out how to run the temperature probes wirelessly. i already have a web shield working and have done some research on using a radio freq to control it wirelessly do you have another idea i am not aware of perhaps some code to look at. i have also thought of doing a ph probe just for giggles and practice perhaps you can direct me to some cheaper probes then i have seen on fleabay. i am very interested in this project and hae already signed onto the mentioned website for collaboration on the bells and whistles and DIY projects any help would be great.
doc
I am unsure how you would run/what the advantage of running the temperature probe wirelessly would be. You would still have to plug the temperature probe into a wireless shield/module, and then have it communicate with the main controller. Why not just have the probe hooked up to the main board?

As I mentioned, I just picked up my pH probe locally; there are lots of options on eBay for ~$20. They will probably work OK; you could always get the Pinpoint pH probe (a little more expensive). You probably get what you pay for, but at this point in time (prototyping), I just needed a pH probe that could measure pH, and do all the things I wanted it to do.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:43 AM   #131
drhemlock2
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: rushville, indiana
Posts: 85
Default

DarkBlade you mentioned that the DS1307 has drift issues and you personally like the DS3231 chip does this chip work like the DS1307 othering than the drift as i am about to order a new RTC as i smoked my old one really did not work that well anyway hehe.
doc
drhemlock2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:46 AM   #132
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drhemlock2 View Post
DarkBlade you mentioned that the DS1307 has drift issues and you personally like the DS3231 chip does this chip work like the DS1307 othering than the drift as i am about to order a new RTC as i smoked my old one really did not work that well anyway hehe.
doc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkblade48 View Post
I personally like the DS3231 chip, since the DS1307 does seem to drift. The libraries are interchangeable, so there is no extra work involved.
See above.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:47 AM   #133
drhemlock2
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: rushville, indiana
Posts: 85
Default

mainly for the removal so many wires as my unit will be on the outside of my stand and thought i would use the sd card on the web shield to gather data over time. i love data and thought it would be cool to do this. i had already decided for now to use extra long sensor cables just to make sure they made it to the controller.
doc

Last edited by drhemlock2; 01-22-2013 at 09:48 AM.. Reason: added word
drhemlock2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:54 AM   #134
MarkM
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hampstead, NC
Posts: 333
Default Interesting

Interesting, I am going to bookmark this thread. I have begun working on the design of a more simple system based on an inexpensive PLC. I have both a planted freshwater tank and a reef tank. My goal is to automate several of the functions on the saltwater tank but I am starting with the simpler freshwater tank. I have a temperature probe and it now reports temperature. I have a pH prob and it reports pH levels. I can have the PLC turn on and off the heater using the temperature input and can turn on and off the CO2 based on the pH level. And the PLC turns on and off the lights according to time of day. I am planning to establish a water top off this weekend as I just received two micro level sensor which can detect water level. The above is easy and relatively inexpensive.

Next, I want to measure ammonia and CO2 directly and looking for sensors for these. I am also going to work on a semi-auto water change system, (mostly in view of the larger saltwater tank not the smaller and easier freshwater tank.) Going to put two water barrels in the garage and run plumbing into where the tanks are. Eventually, I will push a button to empty a certain amount of water into a waste barrel, then, push a second button to move a pre conditioned amount of water into the tank from the clean barrel.
MarkM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:43 PM   #135
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkM View Post
Next, I want to measure ammonia and CO2 directly and looking for sensors for these. I am also going to work on a semi-auto water change system, (mostly in view of the larger saltwater tank not the smaller and easier freshwater tank.) Going to put two water barrels in the garage and run plumbing into where the tanks are. Eventually, I will push a button to empty a certain amount of water into a waste barrel, then, push a second button to move a pre conditioned amount of water into the tank from the clean barrel.
The following CO2 sensor (for air) was looked at by mistergreen:

http://www.co2meter.com/collections/...-sensor-module

Thread: http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=195988

It certainly is cheaper than CO2 sensors made specifically for aquatic purposes.

Ammonia probes run about $300 and up, last I checked.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012