DIY Aquarium Touchscreen Controller - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2012, 11:25 PM   #31
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

Ahh yeah im gunna keep hunting around for a driver

Sent from my ST25a
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-23-2012, 11:34 PM   #32
RossMartin
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
Default

I'm really interested in doing something like this. Could you please list the parts you are using and where you got them from??

Thanks

Ross
RossMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 12:29 AM   #33
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

There listed a bit further up but he hasnt finished it yet

Sent from my ST25a
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:49 PM   #34
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

Ordered most of my arduino stuff today
I grabed the same touchscreen and mega kit
Real time shield
And a led driver shield. It's got 6 channels and has a input of up to 30v so I'm curious to get the unit to have a play around looks like I'm gunna be running parallel instead of in series with it and I think I got a motor shiel too just need my dosing pumps(in a fortnight a time il order them)

I can pm you a link to the driver shield if you are interested was only aus $22
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:57 PM   #35
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxhead1990 View Post
Ordered most of my arduino stuff today
I grabed the same touchscreen and mega kit
Real time shield
And a led driver shield. It's got 6 channels and has a input of up to 30v so I'm curious to get the unit to have a play around looks like I'm gunna be running parallel instead of in series with it and I think I got a motor shiel too just need my dosing pumps(in a fortnight a time il order them)

I can pm you a link to the driver shield if you are interested was only aus $22
That would be cool, would like to check it out
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 03:00 PM   #36
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RossMartin View Post
I'm really interested in doing something like this. Could you please list the parts you are using and where you got them from??

Thanks

Ross
Ordered most of my parts from here

http://imall.iteadstudio.com/

The post below has the link to the guide I used to get started

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showpost.php?p=2027652&postcount=3
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 01:17 AM   #37
mrblah
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: sanford nc
Posts: 2
Default

did you use wire.h for your ds1307 ? I've had trouble with jarduino's code and knock off ds13072's
mrblah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:04 PM   #38
catfishbi
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
catfishbi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 774
Default

U have to have double E to do this to hard for me T.T
catfishbi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 09:14 AM   #39
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrblah View Post
did you use wire.h for your ds1307 ? I've had trouble with jarduino's code and knock off ds13072's
Sorry it took a bit to answer, been preoccupied with storm prep.
I used the DS1307 library only, had to solder a wire to the +5V pad on the Arduino to power the breakout board
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 11:18 AM   #40
SteveRoehrs
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide SA
Posts: 1
Cool Diy2

Hey sounds like I'm not alone then!
I'm planning on doing the same thing - mainly for light control, maybe an automatic feeder in the near future. I had already blown (burnt, smoked, nearly started a fire) two of the fluoro ballasts so I've replaced them with LED strips. Pics are here if you're interested: http://electronicmenagerie.blogspot.com.au/

I want to try and build a cutdown version of jarduino, just using an atmega328P (ie the chip in the Arduino Uno), some transistors for PWM driving (dimming) the lights, a few temperature sensors, and a small LCD with buttons. LCDs big enough to have a touch screen end up taking up most of the pins and not leaving many for I/O - and the flash is smaller on a Uno so it could be a squeeze. I'll post here to let you know how it goes.

Boxhead - where in Oz are you? I'm in Adelaide.

cheers
Steve
SteveRoehrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 12:01 PM   #41
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

I was wondring if that storm had come through yet

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Tapatalk 2
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 12:03 PM   #42
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxhead1990 View Post
I was wondring if that storm had come through yet

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Tapatalk 2
Done been here and gone. We made it through without losing power, NJ and NY got hammered really bad
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 12:59 PM   #43
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

Ahh yeah my cousin was on holiday in hawaii(hondalulu???) when that sunami come through

So there was deffs [censored][censored][censored][censored] going diwn this week

Good that you didnt loose power that woulda sucked

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Tapatalk 2
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 02:42 AM   #44
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

Iv got mu arduino and touchscreen today yay

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Tapatalk 2
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 10:05 AM   #45
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxhead1990 View Post
Iv got mu arduino and touchscreen today yay

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Tapatalk 2
Good deal
I start my vacation this Saturday coming up. I have to plumb my wet/dry in on my 65, then I have 8 days to concentrate on writing code on mine.
Mike
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012