Shop Light Question
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2012, 03:09 AM   #1
Bettabits
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 3
Default

Shop Light Question


I've started a 5 gal. tank a month ago and Id like to try my hand with live plants. My aquarium is on my kitchen counter, we have a bank of cabinets that have some lights mounted underneeth them. They use t-12 40 watt bulb & its abut 13 inches from my substrate..is this enough light?
Bettabits is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2012, 03:22 AM   #2
Mike1239
Planted Member
 
Mike1239's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Baltimore md
Posts: 185
Default

It would be ok just replace the bulb with a new 6500k bulb every 4 months or look in to replacing the fixture with a t8 or t5 fixture and you can extend that replacement time to 8 months
Mike1239 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2012, 03:26 AM   #3
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (75/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,975
Default

You could replace the bulb with a T8 bulb, and get around 35-40 micromols of PAR, low to low medium light, with that setup. If you replaced the light fixture with a T5HO light you would probably have way too much light.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2012, 03:55 AM   #4
Bettabits
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 3
Default

I've taken the hood off my aquarium cause the lights on that are useless( I think.) But you guys are thinking the t-12 cabnet light is fine?

I just put some Dwarf babys breath in today would that be enough light? Not sure things will be bright enough. The light doesn't sit directly above but back a few inches. I also invested in a Fluval mini power compact light its 13w but it didn't fit over the lip of my tank, so it's getting returned. Do you think I should forget the additional lighting and just stick with what I have overhead.
Bettabits is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2012, 04:18 AM   #5
SpecGrrl
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 1,571
Default

The FugeRay is a great light at a great price!

I am saving up to get one after my next paycheck -- it'll go on my Spec V!

Now that I have cute shrimpies, I need a stronger light!
SpecGrrl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2012, 04:32 AM   #6
Mike1239
Planted Member
 
Mike1239's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Baltimore md
Posts: 185
Default

The additional light will be better then the t12 I would remove or turn off the t12
Mike1239 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2012, 08:06 PM   #7
dbosman@msu.edu
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: East Lansing, MI, USA
Posts: 2,710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bettabits View Post
I've started a 5 gal. tank a month ago and Id like to try my hand with live plants. My aquarium is on my kitchen counter, we have a bank of cabinets that have some lights mounted underneeth them. They use t-12 40 watt bulb & its abut 13 inches from my substrate..is this enough light?
Go for low light plants and some stems to start with. The stem plants will tell you if there is enough light. If the light is not sufficient the leaf nodes will be spaced farther apart than what they were when you got them. Or the plant will die. Java fern will grow in ambient room lighting, so they will do well.

Can you open one of the fixtures to read the label on the ballast?
That or the model number, will tell you if it can handle T8 lamps which are more efficient. (brighter)
dbosman@msu.edu is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-30-2012, 06:40 AM   #8
Bettabits
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks folks I appreciate all the help.
Bettabits is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012