Question for the Fraternity of Dirt folks
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 04:24 PM   #1
kamikazi
Planted Tank Guru
 
kamikazi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Posts: 2,245
Default

Question for the Fraternity of Dirt folks


I'm tore down my existing setup to move it into a 75 gallon. I removed the gravel cap and then removed the MGOCPM.

Would it be ok to reuse the dirt or should I start fresh?
kamikazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2012, 04:37 PM   #2
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

If it's less than a year 'used' I would continue tanking on it.
(would be a good time to recharge though LOL and it's cheap enough)
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:41 PM   #3
kamikazi
Planted Tank Guru
 
kamikazi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Posts: 2,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wkndracer View Post
If it's less than a year 'used' I would continue tanking on it.
(would be a good time to recharge though LOL and it's cheap enough)
I should have mentioned in my OP it is a year and a half old.
kamikazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:43 PM   #4
AVN
Wannabe Guru
 
AVN's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,083
Default

Replace it, after using it for a year and a half your plants have probably depleted a lot of available nutrients.

It's so cheap to replace you'd be nuts not to!
__________________
AVN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 05:05 PM   #5
kamikazi
Planted Tank Guru
 
kamikazi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Posts: 2,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AVN View Post
Replace it, after using it for a year and a half your plants have probably depleted a lot of available nutrients.

It's so cheap to replace you'd be nuts not to!
I think I have enough left over from when I changed my other tank over to dirt.

Thanks guys
kamikazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 07:56 PM   #6
In.a.Box
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 1,116
Default

I would do 50/50 old/new. There no point using new soil.
Soil doesn't run out of nutrients at all.
In.a.Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012