Aqua Medic 1000 Leaking Gas ?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2012, 06:14 PM   #1
D.gilly
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
D.gilly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: scarborough,ontario
Posts: 705
Default

Aqua Medic 1000 Leaking Gas ?


So I think my reactor is leaking gas or something in my CO2 system is, I can dump enough gas into the reactor to drop the water line to halfway and in a minute it has filled back up to the top. CO2 just doesn't dissolve that quickly, I checked the whole system and no water is leaking out so it seems strange that gas would be. Any thoughts?
__________________
happy fishing
75 gallon Tanganyika Community Planted
D.gilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-15-2012, 06:38 PM   #2
mott
Wannabe Guru
 
mott's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: nj
Posts: 1,993
Default

Your pump or filter may not be strong enough for the amount of co2 you are pumping into the reactor. How many bps and what size filter/pump are you running?
Edit: I may not be understanding the question, are you saying there is a gas pocket in the reactor or there is none? If you pump enough co2 that a gas pocket forms and the quickly dissipates I would think its working correctly.
__________________

EHEIM Pimp Club Member #250 2217,2026,2236
mott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 07:02 PM   #3
D.gilly
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
D.gilly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: scarborough,ontario
Posts: 705
Default

I'm running an ehiem 2026 its not a lot of flow but it's enough. I only have maybe 2-4 bps so gas pockets don't form usually. But If I dump a bunch of co2 into the reactor it is gone in a minute like too quickly it cant be dissolving that fast.
__________________
happy fishing
75 gallon Tanganyika Community Planted
D.gilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 07:14 PM   #4
mott
Wannabe Guru
 
mott's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: nj
Posts: 1,993
Default

I have the same exact setup, running about 5-6 bps and normally get a gas pocket by the end of the day. At one point I noticed the bubbles going directly down the output and never formed a pocket. I believe it was due to having a different spraybar setup then. Do you notice the bubbles going to the top of the reactor or going straight down the bottom? I would think if you had any kind of leak you would see water so I would doubt its leaking.
__________________

EHEIM Pimp Club Member #250 2217,2026,2236
mott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:11 AM   #5
D.gilly
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
D.gilly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: scarborough,ontario
Posts: 705
Default

The bubbles don't make it out the output. Its strange I've been fiddling with the release valve making sure its shut tightly and I dumped a bunch of co2 building about a 1 inch gas pocket that has taken almost 2 hours to dissolve. yet earlier today a 5 inch gas pocket was disappearing in a minute. I'm stumped. Maybe there is like a pin hole leak in the co2 tubing requiring a certain amount of back pressure to open it up?
__________________
happy fishing
75 gallon Tanganyika Community Planted
D.gilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 05:15 AM   #6
inkslinger
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Taunton ,MA
Posts: 1,694
Default

I've use the AM1000 co2 reactor with a mag 5 500gph pump in a close loop set-up and it work great , the best way to set it up is to run a co2 line from the bleed valve back to pump and open it just enough to use the gas build up over again.
inkslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 02:45 AM   #7
D.gilly
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
D.gilly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: scarborough,ontario
Posts: 705
Default

Seems to be working now I tightened the bolts on the co2 and release valve a bit for good measure.
__________________
happy fishing
75 gallon Tanganyika Community Planted
D.gilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012