Algae ID in my 10g
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2012, 10:04 PM   #1
Jjensen187
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 18
Default

Algae ID in my 10g







Only a few plants right now. Dose flourish once a week. One betta in tank. Keep my aquaeon 30" fixture on for about 6-8 hours a day. Water change 50% once a week.
Jjensen187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-25-2012, 11:06 PM   #2
Higher Thinking
So good my algae pearls!
 
Higher Thinking's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oregon State Beavers!
Posts: 1,516
Default

That doesn't look so much like algae, but more like general detritus from operating an aquarium. I would gravel vac all that stuff up and try and be more efficient on your water changes. Not that you need to do them more often, but rather you need to vacuum the surrounding areas better when you do the water change. I could be wrong tho...
__________________
Higher Thinking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:59 AM   #3
cradleoffilthfan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
cradleoffilthfan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Eureka, California
Posts: 323
Default

also, that could be an indication there isn't much circulation in that tank if your average detritus can settle on plant leaves like that. I would bump up the tank circultation, maybe add a small powerhead in the tank just for a little more movement. What kind of filter are you running?
cradleoffilthfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 11:21 PM   #4
TheFoleys
Planted Member
 
TheFoleys's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: The Jersey Shore
Posts: 166
Default

I agree, definitely gotta move some water around in there. It's not even in the pockets its sitting in the open. Personally I feel hob filters just don't work a the sole filter in a planted tank. Especially when there is rock, wood or hills in the hardscape. I bet you could find a small canister on craigslist for cheap a 105 would get the water moving quite well in a 10. But then again canisters in that size range can be bought new for less than 75 bucks. If it were my tank is go for a filter upgrade to a canister before putting a powerhead in keeps the equipment outside the tank and will provide better circulation and filtration at the same time.
TheFoleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 11:22 PM   #5
TheFoleys
Planted Member
 
TheFoleys's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: The Jersey Shore
Posts: 166
Default

Btw like the color blend of your hardscape and substrate.
TheFoleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 02:11 AM   #6
GMYukonon24s
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 3,123
Default

I agree with the above posts that its debris. Just suck it up on your next w/c and also seems like a lack of circulation in the tank.
__________________
110g Tropical Community & Sakura Shrimp
55g BN Breeding Grounds, Peacock Gudgeons, Panda, Pygmies, & Smudge Spot Cories, Rili Shrimp
10g RCS and show guppies

MIAPG - Come join us - Plantedtank - MI - Greatlakesaquaria
GMYukonon24s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012