3" rule, does it always apply?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2013, 09:34 PM   #1
genocdex
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 169
Default

3" rule, does it always apply?


i was wondering if 3" is always a recommended depth of substrate? i want to plant my 10g with micro swords, and crypt wendtti. maybe another shorter plant. would 2" do?
genocdex is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2013, 09:36 PM   #2
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

yes
2icnhes works
__________________

Last edited by HD Blazingwolf; 03-23-2013 at 04:33 AM.. Reason: 2
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:37 PM   #3
genocdex
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 169
Default

yes? the 2" would work?
genocdex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:33 PM   #4
seuadr
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Eaton Rapids, Mi, USA
Posts: 267
Default

a lot of people use 2"
seuadr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:41 PM   #5
xmas_one
Planted Tank Guru
 
xmas_one's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,255
Default

Pretty much if you can plant the plants there is enough. I've done tanks with spots where the substrate was like 1/2", no problems.
xmas_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:58 PM   #6
discuspaul
Planted Tank Guru
 
discuspaul's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,210
Default

As a precaution if you're using sand as a substrate, you'd be best to limit it to 2" anyway, to generally prevent the formation of anaerobic gas pockets.
discuspaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 12:20 AM   #7
genocdex
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 169
Default

Ok thanks every one. At this point i might be thinking of taking out some gravel from my 55g lol...
genocdex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 02:01 AM   #8
shrimpNewbie
Wannabe Guru
 
shrimpNewbie's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: california, orange county
Posts: 1,891
Default 3" rule, does it always apply?

I do 3" atleast in some spots 5-6"
shrimpNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012