Help with Firstime Hardscape
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Aquascaping

Old 08-22-2012, 02:46 AM   #1
loucas6290
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)

Help with Firstime Hardscape

Hi All,

Im in the process of setting up my first planted tank (journal to come) and have started in on the hardscape. im a huge fan of minimalism so its going to be very close to an iwagumi style.

Here is what i've gotten so far (i apologize for the picture quality im still pretty new with a camera), i really like the flow and the way the rocks flow is very similar to how i found them when i pulled them out of the ground.

The more i look the more it feels like i have alot of unutilized space. i was thinking of maybe adding a piece of wood with a lot of branches to come out of the peak of rock on the left and branch into the open space on the right. also i was thinking about doing some more rock work on the left, or maybe adding a significant amount of dirt to the right and highlight a change of height.

Can anyone with more experience with this aspect possibly help me out?
loucas6290 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-22-2012, 04:04 AM   #2
Geniusdudekiran
Prodigious Plant Pundit

PTrader: (44/100%)

Wow. I love this. Take it from me, I'm a huge Iwagumi scale fan, and I'd consider my Iwagumi a success (see signature), that this is perfect just as it stands. What's important now is what it will be planted with. Remember, the rocks/hardscape are ony half the story you're trying to tell here, half the picture to paint.

I would suggest HC as a carpet plant, Blyxa japonica just behind the stone(s), and something like DHG along the back wall and possibly some of the sides. Very straightforward, traditional Iwagumi, but perfectly so. Great job with this tank, can't wait to see it develop.