My 29 gal family living room tank updated 4/9/13 - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2012, 01:05 AM   #16
Fishly
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Fishly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 809
Default

Your "Aqua Fern" (Trichomanes javanicum) is non-aquatic and will die in the tank. And if you put that duckweed in the tank, you'll have a heck of a time getting rid of it.
__________________
My fish change their own water... from clean to dirty.

Cholla 55g * Silver 25g
Fishly is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-08-2012, 03:06 AM   #17
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishly View Post
If you choose to add the other bag, I suggest you slope it from 2.5" in front to 4-5" in back. Keep an eye out for anaerobic spots, though.
Thanks I'm going with a river bank kind of deal we have some rocks from a river in the Smoky Mountain that the kids gather just for the tank so I going to try and a channel in the side I thought about goin down the middle but I think the side will look great. I added the API Quick Start and water from the other tanks. I put in the other bag and will let it settle in overnight I'm going to put the Root-Tabs in, in the morning and some plants.

What are anaerobic spots?
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 04:43 AM   #18
Fishly
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Fishly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 809
Default

When a substrate is too thick, water (and thus oxygen) can't reach the deepest parts, allowing anaerobic bacteria (bacteria that can't live in the presence of oxygen) to colonize there. Some anaerobic bacteria are good and will lower your nitrate levels, but others will produce sulfuric gas that can (theoretically) hurt your fish if the substrate is disturbed. I'm not sure, but I think it can also damage plant roots.

There's a little bit of debate on whether or not anaerobic spots are actually harmful and what is the best way to prevent them. You can stir the substrate weekly, get trumpet snails to burrow in it (however, these can become a nuisance), or plant thickly and let the plant roots oxygenate it.
__________________
My fish change their own water... from clean to dirty.

Cholla 55g * Silver 25g
Fishly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 05:42 AM   #19
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

Thanks Fishly
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 11:59 PM   #20
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

Well here she is with the other bag looks much better till I put in the root tab muck up the water. I use the API root tabs they barely made it to the bottom before they started to dissolve is that normal and is the Sachem tabs better?



Well here the first plants in the tank that little green patch it is Red Ludwigia and that little thingy in front was a tiny Anubias Congensis till I drop it try to put it in the tank hopefully it grows back



I dosed it with flourish before I left for work more plant from the other tank going this week. I'll check the Parameters on Tues.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-09-08_15-10-13_852.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	70.6 KB
ID:	53682  

Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-09-08_15-10-25_23.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	96.6 KB
ID:	53683  


Last edited by zzrguy; 09-11-2012 at 02:04 AM.. Reason: pic no good
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:00 PM   #21
Fishly
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Fishly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 809
Default

Your pics aren't showing.
__________________
My fish change their own water... from clean to dirty.

Cholla 55g * Silver 25g
Fishly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 01:57 AM   #22
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

Thought I fixed that earlier. How about now?

Just did and test
.25ppm ammonia
.not 0ppm nitrite but not a number
80ppm nitrate

More little Red Ludwiga going in tomorrow when get home from the 911 services in Manhattan.

343 I can never forget.
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal

Last edited by zzrguy; 09-11-2012 at 02:15 AM.. Reason: because
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 02:31 AM   #23
Neatfish
Wannabe Guru
 
Neatfish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: TX
Posts: 1,403
Default

You need more plants.
Neatfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 11:13 PM   #24
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

Ok tested it today
.25 ammonia
.25 nitrite
40 nitrates
So I'm assuming I have all these numbers because I used water from the other tanks and add API QUICK-START. I was planning to use some filter media from the chiclid tank and move the chiclids over very soon. I may give it a day or so and see if the numbers come down. I plan on a 50% water change on Saturday maybe drop the fish in then.

Sound like a good plan?
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 02:18 PM   #25
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

Heres todays test nimbers
.50ppm ammonia
1.0ppm nitrite
20ppm nitrates

Ok moven over some filter media today.
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 07:03 PM   #26
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

Well went in to my daughter room to see how everything was going the Betta is on his way out 1 shrimp dead and the last three not looking happy. Water test 0,0,10 the fish is 2 years old had a nitrite spike last week when one of the shrimp died and the algae blow up when I was at work. moved the Beta to a sick bowl {WC everyday Betta fix everyday}. the shrimp where move to the chiclid tank one became a snack the one is not look good the last one looks good. Do zebra loaches eat shrimp?{hope not}broke down the Bowl all the plants from the bowl went in the 29gal. I broke up the red Luwdgia and add the other asian water fern. The chiclids went in as well and the lava rock. Hope that it brought some BB with it. The filter media from the other tank is in the bubble filter.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-09-12_14-38-36_373 (1).jpg
Views:	53
Size:	82.6 KB
ID:	53742  


Last edited by zzrguy; 09-12-2012 at 09:48 PM.. Reason: bad pic
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 07:17 PM   #27
jeremyTR
Suspended
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tacoma Washington
Posts: 1,578
Default

I hope you didn't shove them in a tank with ammonia

Sent from my HTC Evo 4G
__________________
40B - Shrimp tank

~~~
jeremyTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 09:44 PM   #28
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremyTR View Post
I hope you didn't shove them in a tank with ammonia
Unforturnetly yes they are I put prime in the tank and I'm going to do a water change later tonight. They have eaten and are swing around normaly so I guessing they are tuff little buggers. i was trying to wait but the emergency shut down of the betta tank moved my time line ahead.
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 10:06 PM   #29
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

When will be a good time to add the CO2 setup?
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:40 PM   #30
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

I guessing my cycling is come to an end.
Heres todays test Numbers
.25ppm ammonia a drop.
5.0ppm nitrite I'm guessing that the spike you all are talking about.
180 ppm nitrates WTF I will try to change out 5 gals a day for the next week

YES a 50% water change was done today. I learned that I need to come up with a better way of changing the water 3 5gal buckets are way to much work and time.
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012