Beginner Question about Anubias Barteri
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants

Old 06-27-2005, 07:15 PM   #1
Acei
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Beginner Question about Anubias Barteri

I'm a long time aquarium hobbyist (going on 10 years) but new to planted tanks. This weekend I decided to plant my 55 gallon Malawi Cichlid tank pretty thickly with vals, java fern and what was sold simply as Anubias Barteri. Everything that I've read suggests attaching anubias to driftwood or rocks like I do with Java Fern. The Anubias that I got though isn't the low growing species that I see in a lot of pictures. They came in huge clumps that are about 1.5 inches thick where the plant and roots meet. The 'stems' are almost a foot tall. These are some nice plants, but they would really look best in my tank planted in the sand substrate, not tied to the rockwork. Would this be okay, or are anubias like java ferns in that they will shrivel up and die if planted in the substrate?
Acei is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-27-2005, 08:01 PM   #2
BSS
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)

There should be a thick, green "rhizome" at the bottom of the plant. So, long as that is not buried you should be good to go. Perhaps you can tie a rock to the plant just underneath the rhizome and push the rock into the substrate. I've done that recently. I also tried weighting an Anubias down one time waiting for the roots (the white shoots that sprout from the bottom of the rhizome) to take hold. I gave up after a month and found a rock .
Old 06-27-2005, 09:17 PM   #3
Acei
Algae Grower

Thanks for the tip... I'll try that this evening.