Rehabbing a Fluval Chi
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum

Old 08-11-2012, 12:31 PM   #1
Supernaturalist
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)

Rehabbing a Fluval Chi

I work at a pet store that displays a 5 gal Fluval Chi at our register. Its current stocking list is:

Flora: Algae!
Fauna: A molly with wasting disease, an otocinclus and a common pleco.

I've gotten permission from my boss to tear it down and re-build it. I'm still new to planted tanks but I think I can make some improvements. I had plans of a nice centerpiece of Windelov Fern and covering that planting box with Fissidens Fontanus and scattering very small Marimo balls over the rest of the tank.

That's not to be however. I'm limited to stocking with things that we carry or can order and everything has to stay stock. If I can convince them to let me ditch the planting box I can do a nice driftwood and anubias piece, but the only ones we get in are flat ones so I can't stick one in the "planter" upright like I'd like.

I need suggestions for plants for stocking a stock Fluval Chi that are readily available through retailers. I've got a few ideas but I'm not in love with any of them. I've got the fish thing under control though. I'll be doing RCS, either Celestial Pearl Danios or Ember Tetras depending on availability and an Oto or two.

I'll be getting a full list of what we can order from our supplier on Monday, and will likely be tearing this thing down when the plants I order come in on Wednesday. Until then I need some help brainstorming please!
Supernaturalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-11-2012, 01:42 PM   #2
KlintZquarium
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)