walnut stand for a 220g
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2012, 03:26 AM   #1
tomfromstlouis
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
tomfromstlouis's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 663
Default

walnut stand for a 220g


Woodworking is my primary hobby so it is nice to be able to mix it with planted tanks. I will post a few pictures of my tank stand for the 6' x 2' 220g that is waiting for me to finish this.

This stand will be made of walnut (to match a 75g stand already in the room) and sycamore for the bits that do not show. Sycamore is lighter weight and strong; I did not want this to be too heavy to move and it will be plenty stout. Several days work to get some components to assemble:



Now a dry fit to tweak joints and see if I can actually put this together in one big step:



Top view of the dry fit:



The front will have doors on each side and in the lower center section. Upper center is a drawer. No floor on the two ends so the canister filters can fit. The stand is 27" high for a 30" high tank.

Updates will be here as it progresses...

Last edited by tomfromstlouis; 07-16-2012 at 12:46 AM.. Reason: update photo links
tomfromstlouis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2012, 04:59 PM   #2
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,643
Default

This should be very interesting, and beautiful. I will be following this.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 05:02 PM   #3
chad320
Planted Tank VIP
 
chad320's Avatar
 
PTrader: (101/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Spring Valley, IL
Posts: 7,646
Default

Nice! I am following along too...
__________________
chad320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 05:30 PM   #4
audioaficionado
Planted Tank Guru
 
audioaficionado's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Medford, Orygun
Posts: 2,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoppy View Post
This should be very interesting, and beautiful. I will be following this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chad320 View Post
Nice! I am following along too...
+3
__________________
Steve

45 gal tall high-tech : 2-23-12 update
Complete CO2 Leak Test : How to build a CO2 regulator


Never argue with a fool. Onlookers often can't tell the difference.
Growing older is mandatory, growing up is optional.
My advice is free and worth every penny.
audioaficionado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:22 PM   #5
tomfromstlouis
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
tomfromstlouis's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 663
Default

On the assumption that more pictures are better than fewer, here are some:

Fred poodle could not stay interested long enough for you to see his best side. Stand glued together:



Finish is one coat walnut dye, one coat garnet shellac (for a warmer tone), one coat urethane (for some water proofing). With finish:



Closeup of drawer runners installed:



Haul it to the office, install tank, add doors:



Each end underneath will have a canister filter, center section for the python:



I did not fill it all the way, just enough to start water logging the driftwood. This is only a rough idea of the planned scape. Primary fauna will be altums:


Last edited by tomfromstlouis; 07-16-2012 at 12:49 AM.. Reason: update links
tomfromstlouis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:27 PM   #6
audioaficionado
Planted Tank Guru
 
audioaficionado's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Medford, Orygun
Posts: 2,197
Default

tomfromstlouis,

Looks like you need a better image host site.
__________________
Steve

45 gal tall high-tech : 2-23-12 update
Complete CO2 Leak Test : How to build a CO2 regulator


Never argue with a fool. Onlookers often can't tell the difference.
Growing older is mandatory, growing up is optional.
My advice is free and worth every penny.
audioaficionado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 01:34 AM   #7
tomfromstlouis
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
tomfromstlouis's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 663
Default

My Bad. Fixed.
tomfromstlouis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 01:59 AM   #8
magnum
Algae Grower
 
magnum's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 136
Default

Wow, that is quite amazing.
__________________
Sump Pimp #11
RAOK Club Member #53

All I got in life is my word, balls, and pride.
magnum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:05 AM   #9
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,643
Default

That is a spectacular stand, and it looks like the aquascape will be equal to the challenge of competing with the stand. What lighting do you have on the tank?
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:27 AM   #10
Royal Pleco
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 138
Default

I'm diggin it too.... good stuff
Royal Pleco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:34 AM   #11
brohawk
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
brohawk's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 606
Default

Very impressive stand! Now show us some better pics of the Healey.
__________________
brohawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 03:12 PM   #12
tomfromstlouis
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
tomfromstlouis's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 663
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoppy View Post
..... What lighting do you have on the tank?
Two 36" 4 lamp HO T5 from Aquatic Life. At 39W per lamp, that gives me enough light to grow medium light plants like swords, no? Tank is 30" deep.

http://www.aquaticlife.com/sites/def...ets/420036.pdf
tomfromstlouis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 04:45 PM   #13
GraphicGr8s
Banned
 
GraphicGr8s's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West coast of the east coast of the USA.
Posts: 2,384
Default

Really nice build Tom. Love the sliding dovetails. Maybe I should have had you build my "Never ending" project.
__________________
Quote me as saying I was misquoted.
Once you get rid of integrity the rest is a piece of cake.
Life is simple…People complicate it
Here's to our wives and sweethearts - may they never meet.
If you agreed with me we'd both be right.
GraphicGr8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 05:23 PM   #14
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,643
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomfromstlouis View Post
Two 36" 4 lamp HO T5 from Aquatic Life. At 39W per lamp, that gives me enough light to grow medium light plants like swords, no? Tank is 30" deep.

http://www.aquaticlife.com/sites/def...ets/420036.pdf
That will be too much light, enough that you will soon be discouraged by the constant battle against algae, especially black brush algae. Much better would be a pair of 2 bulb lights, separated by about 10 inches, to get good spread of light over the whole tank, and keep the intensity down to the low medium light range. Add a good pressurized CO2 system, which will be a trivial expense compared to what you already have invested, and you can grow any plants you want, with only minor algae problems.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 07:27 PM   #15
tomfromstlouis
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
tomfromstlouis's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 663
Default

Not sure how you figure it is too much light. Per page 4 of the brochure I linked to, the fixtures give 50 to 80 PAR at 24", (per your tables) firmly in your "medium light" range. My lowest substrate is actually a bit more than 24" from the fixture.


I have moderate experience both with and without CO2 and want to avoid it for this tank. I am willing to dose Excel if that will help me get past the algae stage intact....
tomfromstlouis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012