understanding osmocote and ferts in inert substrate
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters

Old 06-28-2012, 10:08 AM   #1
pandamonium
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (27/100%)

understanding osmocote and ferts in inert substrate

hey everyone,

so i planted my tank today, you can see what it looks like now in my tank journal in my signature. i put in a lot more stem plants than what i had before. i am going for a low tech tank so med-low lighting and no CO2. the plants i have are frogbit, pennywort, s. hygro, blyxa, and s. repens. i am planning on a couple more amazon swords. seeing as the latter are all stem plants/root plants, i thought about fertilizing. i am a newbie when it comes to this so apologies in advance. right now i only dose flourish comprehensive which i learned was basically micro nutrients. macro nutrients in a low tech tank i was told, come from fish poop or decaying matter.
so then i am assuming flourish comp stays mainly in the water column? and since my substrate is sand (sakrete playsand), will the stem plants not get enough nutrients?
this brings me to the next question. will i need root tabs or some form of substrate fertilizers to help my stem/root plants grow? i looked around and people have been talking about osmocote. first of all i have no idea how it works but i heard great things about it. there are a lot of differnet things people do with it like freeze it or put it in gel caps? again complete noobie about this here haha. can anyone elaborate on this? i would be interested to try it if it was cheaper than using root tabs.
pandamonium is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-28-2012, 12:59 PM   #2
steven p
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)