What lighting?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Local Pet Stores, Clubs, and Conventions > Colorado

Old 06-08-2012, 05:57 AM   #1
Matt.radich
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)

What lighting?

So I am super new to the forum and I only have a reef tank but am adding another tank to my collection, so now I'm on this forum as well haha, mainly because I am planning on getting a tank setup here soon. I may have a tank lined up, but have no idea what lighting to use. Would a 2-bulb t5 HO kill plants instead of grow them?

I am really new to this so I am not sure about what plants require what lighting, so of you could help with that, that's be awesome.

Also what defines low light, medium light and high light?
Matt.radich is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-08-2012, 06:19 AM   #2
madness
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (14/100%)

A good two bulb T5HO fixture will give you algae problems on most smaller tanks. Just way too much light.

If you get anything over low-medium or medium light levels you are going to be needing CO2.

What is the tank size/dimension that you are thinking of getting and do you plan to go high tech (using pressurized CO2 and heavy fertilizers)?
madness is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2012, 06:23 AM   #3
Matt.radich
Algae Grower

I'm planning low tech for now, and it is hopefully a 10 gallon, so the 10''x20'' layout
Old 06-08-2012, 06:52 AM   #4
Noahma
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (8/100%)

the best advice I could give you is to not over think your lighting. You will not need near as much light as your reef.

Take a look through this thread: