30g Metaframe-Sitting on the Dock
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals

Old 06-04-2012, 09:31 PM   #1
Kelli
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

30g Metaframe-Sitting on the Dock

I'm in the process of of breaking down my 55 Oscar rescue tank and putting up my 30g metaframe. After years of Mbuna and SA cichlids I'm ready to do my 'dream' tank which is (loosely) NA themed natural.

I've been researching for the last two months as I realized I am probably not going to be able to save Shamu the Oscar and am now firmly in information overload. My notes have notes, and my idea journals have sub-journals. ACK!

Here is the plan so far:
30g Metaframe (holds water for the last week sitting in our driveway)
MGOPS topped with river pebbles from around here.

Lighting:
Will sit in an East facing window, there are sheer's on the window to cut down on the light coming in (If needed), plus ambient light from the South window and front door (doesn't count for much I know) I'm still trying to figure out a lighting fixture so any help here would be appreciated.

Filtration:
I have 3 Marineland 400's, a Penguin 350, and a Magnum 350 canister filter available from other tanks that I'm not using. I'd prefer to use the canister honestly. I really really hate HOB's.

Fauna:
This is meant as an Iowa-themed tank but being that it's 30g I have to get a little creative...
Etheostoma spectabile -or- caeruleum
Enneacanthus gloriosus -or- Elassoma evergladei (representing our panfish)
Sticklebacks Culaea inconstans
Wild-type Mollies (Not gung-ho about but provides a reliable live food source)
Grass shrimp
lucania goodei
WCMM
Lythrurus umbratilus (redfin shiner) -or- Margariscus margarita (Pearl dace)
Notropis atherrinoides (emerald shiner)
Notropis rubellus (Carmine shiner)

Flora: