| ShrimpTech | v3 | R.I.P. |
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2012, 04:59 AM   #1
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

| ShrimpTech | v3 | R.I.P. |


Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6425.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	82.5 KB
ID:	47995

Modular UGF Tank will incorporate all the benefits of running an UGF shrimp tank, while minimizing the problems of active substrate and UGF with active substrate. A modular tank can be adapted to most common dwarf water shrimps ranging from Caridinas, Neocaridinas, Sulawesi and Tigers all requiring different water parameters with out a tank rebuild.

Issues with previous versions:
- active substrate is exhausted in about ~10-12 months when using UGF
- must tear down the tank to replace the substrate
- inability to vacuum or remove mulm from substrate
- water parameters are not reliable after 10-12 months which led to decreased baby survival from 90% TO 50% then to 20-10%
- hard to predict how much your soil will actually buffer the pH
1) Africana + Amazonia II = pH 6.4 to 6.8
2) Fluval Shrimp Stratum = pH 6.5 for only a few months
3) Lots of Africana + New Amazonia = pH 4.6-4.8
4) New Amazonia = pH 5.5
- once set up hard to change water parameters when changing out shrimps

Proposed Solution:

Build as close to a pH and TDS neutral tank as possible and remove the active substrate from the tank. Use active substrate in a reactor so the active substrate can be changed and replaced. This will also allow me to control how much substrate and composition to use in the canister/reactor. I will now be able to "hot swap" pre-cycled cartridges at regular intervals. Sulawesi use some coral chips. Tigers use minimal amount of active substrate with a bit of coral chips. CRS full cartridge of active substrate. TB use Africana. I will also use a long-lasting inert substrate in tank that can be vacuumed from time to time to help remove mulm. Run reverse UGF on 1/2 of the tank to further help push the mulm up out of the substrate.

Substrate:
I requested some samples from www.substratesource.com to evaluate. After testing pH and TDS of the samples. I ended up ordering the following:

1080 cubic inches of NM0110
http://www.substratesource.com/index...rate&pn=NM0110

500 cubic inches of NT0101
http://www.substratesource.com/index...rate&pn=NT0101

I haven't decided if I'm going to use the natural sand as final top layer yet. I'm afraid over time it might fall down through the gravel layer.

Last edited by shrimpnmoss; 12-28-2012 at 10:36 PM.. Reason: title
shrimpnmoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-20-2012, 04:59 AM   #2
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

Left UGF - Air Driven regular UGF. Water travels down through the substrate.
Right UGF - Reverse UGF where the UGF is the "spraybar" from the canister to push water upwards.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6411.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	47796

First Layer of lava Rocks and coco puffs all pre-cycled from the tank teardown.


Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6412.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	99.6 KB
ID:	47797

Remineralized RO to 200ppm. Tested water 24 hours later. pH and TDS holding steady.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6416.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	40.0 KB
ID:	47993

Media Reactor Pre Filter. Not being used currently, because I want the pH to be neutral for BTOE and Royal Blue Tigers.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6420.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	92.1 KB
ID:	47994

Close up of gravel. I chose a lighter inert gravel because it is hard to see black shrimp in dark substrate.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6428.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	95.9 KB
ID:	47996
__________________
|ShrimpTech|v1|v2|v3|v4|

Last edited by shrimpnmoss; 05-23-2012 at 11:50 PM..
shrimpnmoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 05:00 AM   #3
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

10 BTOE & Royal Blues from Nick. 10 BTOE from Jimko.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6487.jpg
Views:	286
Size:	79.3 KB
ID:	48103

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6489.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	88.0 KB
ID:	48104

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6490.jpg
Views:	274
Size:	42.5 KB
ID:	48105

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6501.jpg
Views:	678
Size:	67.2 KB
ID:	48896
__________________
|ShrimpTech|v1|v2|v3|v4|

Last edited by shrimpnmoss; 06-10-2012 at 12:01 AM..
shrimpnmoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 06:24 AM   #4
Bananariot
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bananariot's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Biddeford, Maine
Posts: 2,635
Default

In line canister for active substrate?
Fluorite or small grain lava rock for substrate?

I'm excited to see this project. The reactor is a great idea!
Bananariot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 06:40 AM   #5
jkan0228
Planted Tank Guru
 
jkan0228's Avatar
 
PTrader: (115/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Posts: 5,484
Default

+1 what are you going to be using for substrate?

Will you using pre filters to swap out the active substrates? What substrates will you be using?

Will you be using basically trial and error and constant testing to see what amount of substrate will last how long?

Are the red things on the left UGF connectors or are they blockers for the holes?
jkan0228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 06:47 AM   #6
madness
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,698
Default

Sooner or later someone is going to figure out a clever way of using something other than a tank full of active substrate to lower the pH of water for soft water shrimp tanks in a similarly reliable and consistent fashion.

Beyond what I feel comfortable trying but someone will figure something clever out eventually.

edit: this doesn't seem so different from what the powerhouse filter media is designed to do.
madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 12:20 PM   #7
2in10
Planted Tank Guru
 
2in10's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sparks, NV
Posts: 2,585
Default

Intriguing setup, an interesting sounding solution.
2in10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:53 PM   #8
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

+1 what are you going to be using for substrate?

See update on post #1

Will you using pre filters to swap out the active substrates? What substrates will you be using?

Post #1

Will you be using basically trial and error and constant testing to see what amount of substrate will last how long?

I took a base line reading with no active substrate in the system. Then will adjust accordingly.

Are the red things on the left UGF connectors or are they blockers for the holes?
They are blockers to close some holes closer to the start to get a more even flow through the UGF.


Update.
__________________
|ShrimpTech|v1|v2|v3|v4|

Last edited by shrimpnmoss; 05-25-2012 at 04:33 AM..
shrimpnmoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 04:29 AM   #9
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

Updated shrimp pics.
__________________
|ShrimpTech|v1|v2|v3|v4|
shrimpnmoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 10:37 PM   #10
h4n
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (713/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlton, Mass
Posts: 4,910
Default

very nice idea Howard!
h4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 11:12 PM   #11
Michiba54
Planted Member
 
Michiba54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpnmoss View Post
I haven't decided if I'm going to use the natural sand as final top layer yet. I'm afraid over time it might fall down through the gravel layer.
Haven't mixed the two myself, but from what I have seen of other people who have it will probably sink within a few weeks at the most.... and potentially look horrible depending on the sand/gravel ratio.

EDIT: I just looked at your pictures again and that is a pretty deep bed of gravel. Me thinks your sand would just disappear.
Michiba54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 01:55 AM   #12
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michiba54 View Post
Haven't mixed the two myself, but from what I have seen of other people who have it will probably sink within a few weeks at the most.... and potentially look horrible depending on the sand/gravel ratio.
EDIT: I just looked at your pictures again and that is a pretty deep bed of gravel. Me thinks your sand would just disappear.
I think you are right. I nixed the sand over gravel idea. If I ever do a inert sand tank. It'll be without UGF or gravel. Too many potential issues.

Water Changes

Losing shrimps after a water change? I don't have that problem. Here I'm doing a large water change. I'll slow down the water changes as the tank matures.

1) Drop the water filling 5g bucket
2) Fill the bucket with 5g of RO
3) Remineralize with Salty Shrimp GH+ mineral.
a) 200ppm for Tigers
b) 120ppm for Pure Lines. Only 1/2 gallon at a time. Very very small water changes. 5%-10%. I also drip in top offs for Pure Lines.
c) 150ppm for TTs

http://www.alphaprobreeders.com/bee-...h-1-000-grams/

4) Drip the incoming water. 2-3 drops per second. It takes me about 4-5 hours to drip 5g of new water.

Tip: Attach two air line suction cups to the line. One in tank, one in bucket so the air line doesn't move.

5) Take your time. Start in the morning or drip it overnight. Shrimps are expensive, no need to rush.

6) Change water with the lights off. Less stress for the shrimps.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6495.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	39.9 KB
ID:	48168
__________________
|ShrimpTech|v1|v2|v3|v4|
shrimpnmoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 02:01 AM   #13
Michiba54
Planted Member
 
Michiba54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 191
Default

Do you filter your water through a DI filter too or just RO?
Michiba54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 02:09 AM   #14
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michiba54 View Post
Do you filter your water through a DI filter too or just RO?
It is super RODI water I buy from the store 25g at a time. The store is called Water To Go. They use a 12 stage filter system the size of my living room. The water is filtered through Particle, Carbon, RO, DI, UV, Ozone then a final carbon polish. I figure a home RODI system can't top a monster commercial one. I only run 3 tanks and really don't change water that often. 25g usually last me 1.5 weeks and that is with the family drinking it too.

__________________
|ShrimpTech|v1|v2|v3|v4|

Last edited by shrimpnmoss; 05-26-2012 at 05:15 PM..
shrimpnmoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 02:59 AM   #15
Geniusdudekiran
Prodigious Plant Pundit
 
Geniusdudekiran's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 5,371
Default

Bada-pa-pa-paa, I'm lovin' it

Lucky you, you live near a hippie-water store :P . At least my tap works well...
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." -- Steve Jobs
Geniusdudekiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012