Complete newb with fertilizers has questions.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters

Old 05-13-2012, 04:21 PM   #1
Calmia22
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (2/100%)

Complete newb with fertilizers has questions.

Every time I come into this section of the forum I quickly leave. Everything I read confuses the hell out of me.

Looking at the sticky for dosing regimes it seems so simple but then I try to figure out a few parts and I am lost again so here it goes:

55g
high light
paintball co2 (hoping to go normal pressurized within the next few months)
Tank is going to be officially set up in another week or so. I got an awesome deal on a huge mix of plants which are all currently still in their pots, sitting in the 55 with the light on. Some have melted and come back others are flourishing, some look ok, and others like my java fern look absolutely horrible. Oh, and there are currently fish in the tank with the plants but there wont be next week.

So according the the dosing regimes here is what I would do:
40~60gal
50% H20 change-weekly
1/2 Tsp-KN03 3x a week
1/8 Tsp-KH2P04 3x a week
3/4 Tsp-GH booster once a week
10ml or 1/8Tsp-Trace 3x a week
Optional
2-4ml-Fe/Iron 3x a week

I get the KN03 and KH2P04 but I have no idea what trace is or how much iron should be done: 10 or 13%.

Like I say I am a total newb at this and have really no idea what I am doing, all I know is that I would really like my plants to flourish and my fish not to die

I would also like to know how do you test to make sure that the fertilizers are just right? Do you just go purely off of algae? It seems like a lot of people mention some sort of test, but I am used to the basic API liquid test kits for your normal aquarium stuff.
Fluval Flora Pimp #34, 40b Congo Puffer Tank,
75 Gallon High Tech