brown diatom algae problem
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2014, 09:08 PM   #1
Glenn Millar
Algae Grower
 
Glenn Millar's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Cork Ireland
Posts: 76
Default

brown diatom algae problem


hi guys i fight off BBA and now i have a diatom problem....i seem to be going from 1 fight into another but ohh well i guess it keeps things interesting

so what i have changed in the last few weeks that might have triggered it..

1...got a bigger filter eheim 2080 and added to existing media
2...started adding potassium and phosphate which made my plants rocket
3...1 of my fish was not eating so was trying to get him to take so was prob overfeeding a little

3....ottos seemed sluggish and felt it could be the co2 so i dropped the level a little

so i tested all my parameters and they seem fine ...phosphate is less than .05ppm

would the new eheim or adding media have triggered a new tank syndome...i thought brown algae was from silacates

cheers any advice would be great
Glenn Millar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-09-2014, 10:45 AM   #2
Glenn Millar
Algae Grower
 
Glenn Millar's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Cork Ireland
Posts: 76
Default

Anyone
Glenn Millar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2014, 01:22 PM   #3
CrypticLifeStyle
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Humarock - Boston MA
Posts: 1,317
Default

This question gets asked so much, its worth using the search function.
__________________
I'm not into the image, but into the hobby...
CrypticLifeStyle is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2014, 01:23 PM   #4
FatherLandDescendant
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
FatherLandDescendant's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: In the hills of Eastern Kentucky, USA
Posts: 791
Default

Change in water flow could do it, stirring up the resting diatom cells from the substrate and reintroducing them to more favorable growth conditions in the more oxygen rich areas of the water column.

Phosphate limiting slows diatom growth, so phosphate limiting and then reintroduction could have caused a subsequent bloom.

What is your iron dosing like? Iron limiting has been shown to increase silica uptake in diatoms.

I've actually read some few studies regarding diatoms recently that were conducted off the coast of Ireland, right out your back door it would appear.
FatherLandDescendant is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012