FX lens on DX body?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Photography


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2012, 10:00 PM   #1
Da Plant Man
Nerd Alert.
 
Da Plant Man's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW Montana
Posts: 5,703
Default

FX lens on DX body?


Before I get all excited about saving up money to buy the nikkor 70mm-300mm, its okay to use FX lens on a DX body, right? It'll just be a little more zoomed in, correct?

Also, is 300mm enough? I'm seeing its only 4.3x zoom, while my old point and shoot had 10x...
__________________

RAOK CLUB #12
Wabi-kusa Pimp #1
"99% of the time, a fish tank with plants will fail. Once you start a dedicated planted tank with fish, then you begin to succeed." - Geniusdudekiran
Da Plant Man is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-07-2012, 10:02 PM   #2
Da Plant Man
Nerd Alert.
 
Da Plant Man's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW Montana
Posts: 5,703
Default

With my DX body, its actual focal length will be 105-450mm, right?
__________________

RAOK CLUB #12
Wabi-kusa Pimp #1
"99% of the time, a fish tank with plants will fail. Once you start a dedicated planted tank with fish, then you begin to succeed." - Geniusdudekiran
Da Plant Man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:13 PM   #3
Nubster
Planted Tank Guru
 
Nubster's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Romney, West Virginia
Posts: 3,445
Default

DX is a crop factor of 1.5. And yeah, an FX lens on a DX body is not an issue.
__________________
EVIL Camera Pimp member #1
NIKON Pimp Club member #012
SunSun Pimp Club member #069

20L OEBT/Super Tiger/PFR Tank 20L Yellow Neo tank

Nubster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:14 PM   #4
Da Plant Man
Nerd Alert.
 
Da Plant Man's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW Montana
Posts: 5,703
Default

and even though I have a D5100 (does not have auto focus built in) I can use just AF lens, not AF-S. I really would like to upgrade to an FX body later on, like maybe the D800 or D3s. I wouldn't have auto focus, but I never use that anyways.
__________________

RAOK CLUB #12
Wabi-kusa Pimp #1
"99% of the time, a fish tank with plants will fail. Once you start a dedicated planted tank with fish, then you begin to succeed." - Geniusdudekiran
Da Plant Man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 11:19 PM   #5
i'm a ninja
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 390
Default

You have to buy AF-S lenses, they have a motor in the lens to power the autofocus, which is what you need with a D5100. In older lenses the autofocus is driven by a screw in the camera body, which the D5100 does not have.
i'm a ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 11:39 PM   #6
stewardwildcat
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
stewardwildcat's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 427
Default

FX lenses will also have less vignetting I have FX lenses on my D7000
__________________
Have you ever seen a French Ninja? NO because they are sneaky.
stewardwildcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:09 AM   #7
Da Plant Man
Nerd Alert.
 
Da Plant Man's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW Montana
Posts: 5,703
Default

I know it won't have autofocus. If I get it, can I just use manual?
__________________

RAOK CLUB #12
Wabi-kusa Pimp #1
"99% of the time, a fish tank with plants will fail. Once you start a dedicated planted tank with fish, then you begin to succeed." - Geniusdudekiran
Da Plant Man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:26 AM   #8
i'm a ninja
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 390
Default

Yeah you can just manually focus the lenses, they will meter just fine so exposure will be correct. And as for your original question of will 300mm be enough: on DX 300mm plenty, I hardly ever zoom my 70-300 past the 200mm mark when I have it mounted on my D80. And even if its not the D5100 has a high enough resolution that you could crop the photo down later with no negative effects.
i'm a ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:52 AM   #9
teah
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: non USA
Posts: 74
Default

Using a FX lens on DX camera, you can profit from the sweet spot advantage of the lens. As usually, the sharpest area is in the center of the lens...
teah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:41 AM   #10
toofazt
The Weather's Here
 
toofazt's Avatar
 
PTrader: (41/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bookings, OR
Posts: 1,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Plant Man View Post
Also, is 300mm enough? I'm seeing its only 4.3x zoom, while my old point and shoot had 10x...
Optical is always clearer than digital. Your point and shoot basically cropped the picture to zoom.
__________________

DIY Electric Shut-Off Valve ........... DIY Fluval Edge Light Mod
............................My Current Aquarium............................
toofazt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 02:23 PM   #11
Da Plant Man
Nerd Alert.
 
Da Plant Man's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW Montana
Posts: 5,703
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toofazt View Post
Optical is always clearer than digital. Your point and shoot basically cropped the picture to zoom.
No it didn't. The lens actually zoomed that much. It was a fujifilm finepix something, but the zoom on that one was insane.
__________________

RAOK CLUB #12
Wabi-kusa Pimp #1
"99% of the time, a fish tank with plants will fail. Once you start a dedicated planted tank with fish, then you begin to succeed." - Geniusdudekiran
Da Plant Man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 03:00 PM   #12
shinycard255
Wannabe Guru
 
shinycard255's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 1,616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Plant Man View Post
No it didn't. The lens actually zoomed that much. It was a fujifilm finepix something, but the zoom on that one was insane.
+1 to optical zoom being better than digital zooms. I always tell people when buying P&S cameras to stay away from digital zoom if you can because all it does is just zoom in on that area of the photo. It makes it more grainy and just zooms into that portion of the photo, so essentially you are getting a worse picture out of it.

Even though the lens zooms in that much, it's using the digital zoom which hurts the image in the long run.
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt #42
Who would have thought that plants like dirt?!

Tanks: 60G | 5.5G | Evolve4
shinycard255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 03:35 PM   #13
TickleMyElmo
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
TickleMyElmo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 807
Default

It is possible to have a very long optical zoom on a Point and Shoot Camera. Mine has a 20x Optical Zoom, which is equivalent to about 500mm on a full frame camera. Of course nowhere near the quality of the DSLR, but it still zooms in that far without cropping anything or zooming in digitally....all optical, and the results aren't half bad.
TickleMyElmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 03:40 PM   #14
shinycard255
Wannabe Guru
 
shinycard255's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 1,616
Default

Yes, if you do the research and find the right camera, it is possible to have an INSANE amount of optical zoom... but it doesn't happen often
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt #42
Who would have thought that plants like dirt?!

Tanks: 60G | 5.5G | Evolve4
shinycard255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:19 PM   #15
Da Plant Man
Nerd Alert.
 
Da Plant Man's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW Montana
Posts: 5,703
Default

Glad thats settled, lol.

Also, for Nikon, which speedlight is best? I want one that can attach to my camera and can be remote. Any recommendations? It would be for aquarium and general use.

Gah, I need a job. I wanna spend 1k on glass and more on accessories, lol.
__________________

RAOK CLUB #12
Wabi-kusa Pimp #1
"99% of the time, a fish tank with plants will fail. Once you start a dedicated planted tank with fish, then you begin to succeed." - Geniusdudekiran
Da Plant Man is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012