My DIY peat filter - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2012, 10:58 PM   #31
deleted_user_17
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Usa
Posts: 260
Default

Thanks for sharing your setup getochkn, I can't get an ro unit here, so keep trundling off to the lfs to buy water. As my tank is small, I'm going to give this a go sometime.

I just had a very quick Google and found this bucket method which I might try.

Are you dechlorinating at all?

Thanks again, could save me lots in petrol money
__________________
deleted_user_17 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2012, 03:20 AM   #32
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi_Pizza View Post
Thanks for sharing your setup getochkn, I can't get an ro unit here, so keep trundling off to the lfs to buy water. As my tank is small, I'm going to give this a go sometime.

I just had a very quick Google and found this bucket method which I might try.

Are you dechlorinating at all?

Thanks again, could save me lots in petrol money

I am dechlorinating
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2012, 03:12 PM   #33
Kunsthure
Wannabe Guru
 
Kunsthure's Avatar
 
PTrader: (37/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 1,779
Default

This is sticky-worthy. Someone alert the mods!

Does the amount of peat used affect the pH in the end or is it just the speed at which the water flows through? If I ever get to set up another tank, it'll be OEBT or BTOE, so I wouldn't want it super low.

-Lisa
__________________
Selling it all!
Kunsthure is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2012, 05:02 PM   #34
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kunsthure View Post
This is sticky-worthy. Someone alert the mods!

Does the amount of peat used affect the pH in the end or is it just the speed at which the water flows through? If I ever get to set up another tank, it'll be OEBT or BTOE, so I wouldn't want it super low.

-Lisa
I use about 2-3 handfuls of peat in my DIY filter-funnel thingy, that makes me 20gal of around 5.3pH 110TDS water, then I ditch the peat. I could probably make more but I only have 4 5-gal jugs, so I fill those and use them then make more. I did find though that the faster the water goes through, the higher the pH. I let it literally drip water from my shower head, so it takes about 1.5hrs to make a jug and that gets it low. If I increase the water flow, it can take 45mins and the pH/TDS ends up higher, so the longer the water is in contact with the peat, the better it works.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2012, 05:39 PM   #35
HolyAngel
Planted Tank Guru
 
HolyAngel's Avatar
 
PTrader: (24/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: springfield, IL
Posts: 2,604
Send a message via AIM to HolyAngel
Default

Will probably try this soon. Great write up and idea! ^^
__________________
HolyAngel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2012, 05:46 PM   #36
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HolyAngel View Post
Will probably try this soon. Great write up and idea! ^^
Thanks. Takes me about 5 mins to set it up, and then switch jugs every 1.5 hrs and it's done. Not that much work really, as long as you have an old lady that doesn't mind the bathtub full of jugs once a week. lol.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2012, 08:57 PM   #37
dubels
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 307
Default

I think I am going to use this to slowly lower the PH in my RCS tank so I can try my hand at low quality CRS. I might try to do a PVC type cylinder or something. Thanks for posting this.
dubels is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2012, 11:30 AM   #38
deleted_user_17
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Usa
Posts: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD Blazingwolf View Post
I am dechlorinating
Cheers

I went to a garden centre to get some peat yesterday, the bag was so massive - I'll keep looking!
__________________
deleted_user_17 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2012, 02:02 PM   #39
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

so mine is a twostage setup now.
two whole housefilters setup in series. one is peat and floss, the second isa carbon block
bucket for 20 minutes dropped ph from 7.8-8 to 6.8 tds from 115 to 104.. peat is dead from previous experiments ithink. but the water was stiill usuable

next week ill postpics with new peat and hope for better results. i dont wanna get down to 5! but carbon does affect this process i assume as it probably absorbs the humic acidpeat releases so too muchcarbon may affect ur ph values
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2012, 02:32 PM   #40
Kunsthure
Wannabe Guru
 
Kunsthure's Avatar
 
PTrader: (37/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 1,779
Default

The only peat I can ever find is in a bag, sphagnum peat and the ingredients lists stuff like sticks. Is that something I can use?

-Lisa
__________________
Selling it all!
Kunsthure is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2012, 02:49 PM   #41
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kunsthure View Post
The only peat I can ever find is in a bag, sphagnum peat and the ingredients lists stuff like sticks. Is that something I can use?

-Lisa
YUP, thats the stuff
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2012, 03:15 PM   #42
Pickled_Herring
Algae Grower
 
Pickled_Herring's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 52
Default

You can also put a filter bag filled with peat in a canister or HOB filter and treat the tank directly.
Pickled_Herring is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2012, 03:33 PM   #43
Kunsthure
Wannabe Guru
 
Kunsthure's Avatar
 
PTrader: (37/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 1,779
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pickled_Herring View Post
You can also put a filter bag filled with peat in a canister or HOB filter and treat the tank directly.
But then you can end up with yellowed water and you don't have as much control over the numbers you get in the end.

-Lisa
__________________
Selling it all!
Kunsthure is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2012, 03:34 PM   #44
Kunsthure
Wannabe Guru
 
Kunsthure's Avatar
 
PTrader: (37/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 1,779
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD Blazingwolf View Post
YUP, thats the stuff
Do you pick out all the non-peat stuff or just leave it in?

-Lisa
__________________
Selling it all!
Kunsthure is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2012, 03:39 PM   #45
randyl
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,359
Default

I use a 4liter bucket with a small hole on the bottom, run a 3 way air line connector through the hole, on the outside connect it to a piece of air tube with a regulator to regulate the water flow. Like GTCK said, the flow rate determine the outcome, the slower the better.

I don't pick anything out of the peat. When it's time to change peat I just dump the used one in the garden for my hydrangea and rose bushes to enjoy.
randyl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
diy peat, lower ph, peat, peat filter

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012