Substrate
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Local Pet Stores, Clubs, and Conventions > Colorado


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2012, 10:24 PM   #1
chizamp
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mile high
Posts: 157
Default

Substrate


I was wondering if anyone locally has any leftover substrate possibly from a big tank? I am looking to start my 4 gallon planted shrimp tank back up and need some substrate. I can't afford to buy a big bag of expensive substrate right now so I just wanted to see if anyone had enough for a 4 gallon laying around by chance. If not I think I might give dirt a try and see how that goes for once, at least until I can get some better substrate. Let me know if you have enough for a 4 gallon and if so how much you would want for it. Thanks in advance and have a nice night!
chizamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-03-2012, 05:06 AM   #2
Noahma
Planted Tank Guru
 
Noahma's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northglenn, Colorado
Posts: 3,995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chizamp View Post
I was wondering if anyone locally has any leftover substrate possibly from a big tank? I am looking to start my 4 gallon planted shrimp tank back up and need some substrate. I can't afford to buy a big bag of expensive substrate right now so I just wanted to see if anyone had enough for a 4 gallon laying around by chance. If not I think I might give dirt a try and see how that goes for once, at least until I can get some better substrate. Let me know if you have enough for a 4 gallon and if so how much you would want for it. Thanks in advance and have a nice night!
I have some petco brand black sand left over from my 36g and flora, it should be enough to get you started if you would like the rest of it. I can throw in a few root medic substrate tabs if you want too
Noahma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:14 AM   #3
chizamp
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: mile high
Posts: 157
Default

Thanks for the reply. PM sent.
chizamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 02:02 PM   #4
beginragnarok
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA, Earth
Posts: 233
Default

I have MTS that I am pretty sure is ready to be used (been cycling it in my garage waiting for the right peice of furniture to hold my 20L). You could couple that with Noahma's sand. I also have some potash and dolomite to throw in if you want to give it a try. MTS I mean.
beginragnarok is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012