Check out my new RO/DI unit - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2012, 04:24 AM   #16
hedge_fund
Planted Tank Guru
 
hedge_fund's Avatar
 
PTrader: (97/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greenwich, CT
Posts: 3,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diwu13 View Post
Nice hedge!~ I'm ordering the 150GPD one tomorrow! !
Nice, I only wish that I got mine sooner.


Quote:
Originally Posted by acitydweller View Post
cool gadget. how are you planning to remineralize the water to raise all the tds gh kh good stuff?

im saving up for a co2 setup
I use Shirakura Ca+ that I purchased from Liam. About 18 drops per gallon of water to get my TDS around 120-140 and the GH to 5.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpnmoss View Post
So how long did it take to fill up the 5g bucket?
Around 1 hour and 5 minutes. It felt forever since I had to leave but didn't want to shut it down.
hedge_fund is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-28-2012, 04:52 AM   #17
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hedge_fund View Post
Nice, I only wish that I got mine sooner.

Around 1 hour and 5 minutes. It felt forever since I had to leave but didn't want to shut it down.
humm....me too...might have to finally invest in one soon.
__________________
|ShrimpTech|v1|v2|v3|v4|
shrimpnmoss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 05:07 AM   #18
diwu13
Planted Tank Guru
 
diwu13's Avatar
 
PTrader: (24/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Willimantic, CT
Posts: 6,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpnmoss View Post
humm....me too...might have to finally invest in one soon.
Whoa you don't use RO/DI water for your super expensive shrimp?
__________________
Fish Shrimp tanks are like cups of coffee, one is never enough.

ヽ( ゚ヮ゚)ノ.・゚*。・+☆ Twin 10G Shrimp Tanks & 20L Grow Out Tank
diwu13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 08:16 AM   #19
shrimpnmoss
Shrimpsanity
 
shrimpnmoss's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 47 31' 49" N / 122 1' 53" W
Posts: 3,048
Send a message via Yahoo to shrimpnmoss
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diwu13 View Post
Whoa you don't use RO/DI water for your super expensive shrimp?
I do...but I buy 25g at a time from the water store...the store I buy it from has a filter system the size of a room...I figured a home jobby can't be as clean at that...I don't really do water changes so it last a while...even then it'd be nice to have a home portable one...just in case..
__________________
|ShrimpTech|v1|v2|v3|v4|
shrimpnmoss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 12:55 PM   #20
triscene
Algae Grower
 
triscene's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 110
Default

is just shirakura ca+ enough to reminalize for shrimps? How about mg? Just for plants? Thinking of mosura mineral plus.
triscene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:17 PM   #21
Chrisinator
Planted Tank Guru
 
Chrisinator's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NE Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 2,099
Default

Does this work on ever faucet?
Chrisinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:31 PM   #22
h4n
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (713/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlton, Mass
Posts: 4,910
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisinator View Post
Does this work on ever faucet?
It works if you have a standard facuets setup.
I think most people do.

Anyone who gets it make sune you have 35Psi water pressure coming from your facuets or wherever you hook it or it won't work. Even at 35Psi it makes water slow!
They suggest 60psi.
Mine is like 35-40psi and it take me about 1hr 30 mins to fill a 5g to about 3" from the rim on the bucket.

-Sent from my Samsung Note, A "Phablet "
h4n is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:59 PM   #23
Chrisinator
Planted Tank Guru
 
Chrisinator's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NE Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 2,099
Default

I just checked my bathroom faucet and it has the one specificay used for aerator. I didnt realize i can take that off.
Chrisinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:15 PM   #24
diwu13
Planted Tank Guru
 
diwu13's Avatar
 
PTrader: (24/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Willimantic, CT
Posts: 6,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpnmoss View Post
I do...but I buy 25g at a time from the water store...the store I buy it from has a filter system the size of a room...I figured a home jobby can't be as clean at that...I don't really do water changes so it last a while...even then it'd be nice to have a home portable one...just in case..
Hm... I know the portable ones work really well. You'll end up with zero TDS water anyway.
__________________
Fish Shrimp tanks are like cups of coffee, one is never enough.

ヽ( ゚ヮ゚)ノ.・゚*。・+☆ Twin 10G Shrimp Tanks & 20L Grow Out Tank
diwu13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:34 PM   #25
plamski
Wannabe Guru
 
plamski's Avatar
 
PTrader: (60/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Boca Raton,FL
Posts: 1,072
Default

I have 90gal spectra pure RO/DI and it takes 55min to 1.05 hour depends of water pressure. RO filter last 2 years. I have to replace carbon and sediment filters every 6 months because of very high level of chlorine 2-3.5ppm.
plamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:35 PM   #26
hedge_fund
Planted Tank Guru
 
hedge_fund's Avatar
 
PTrader: (97/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greenwich, CT
Posts: 3,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triscene View Post
is just shirakura ca+ enough to reminalize for shrimps? How about mg? Just for plants? Thinking of mosura mineral plus.
It's pretty much the same thing except made by a different brand. Shirakura Ca+ contains other minerals which are good for the shrimp. The easy thing about it is that 1 drop will raise GH by 1 for a liter of water. Obviously I have to convert it to gallons but it's a simple formula.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisinator View Post
Does this work on ever faucet?
It works on most. If you look at the e--bay auction, he has pictures of different set ups. You can use your shower, sink or even hook it up to the hose of your toilet haha.

Quote:
Originally Posted by diwu13 View Post
Hm... I know the portable ones work really well. You'll end up with zero TDS water anyway.
Yup, I totally agree. Much easier than carrying jugs of water.

Quote:
Originally Posted by h4n View Post
It works if you have a standard facuets setup.
I think most people do.

Anyone who gets it make sune you have 35Psi water pressure coming from your facuets or wherever you hook it or it won't work. Even at 35Psi it makes water slow!
They suggest 60psi.
Mine is like 35-40psi and it take me about 1hr 30 mins to fill a 5g to about 3" from the rim on the bucket.

-Sent from my Samsung Note, A "Phablet "
No idea how to measure PSI but mine took pretty much an hour so it's not all that bad.
hedge_fund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:37 PM   #27
hedge_fund
Planted Tank Guru
 
hedge_fund's Avatar
 
PTrader: (97/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greenwich, CT
Posts: 3,388
Default

It was time to store it and it fits perfectly into a 5 gallon bucket. Hopefully this thread has convinced a few people to look into portable units.....that was the goal.

hedge_fund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:43 PM   #28
plamski
Wannabe Guru
 
plamski's Avatar
 
PTrader: (60/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Boca Raton,FL
Posts: 1,072
Default

PSI here is 55-70 .

You can buy PSI meter from Home Depot for less than $10
plamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 03:53 PM   #29
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,692
Default

is it advised to drain all the water out for storage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hedge_fund View Post
It was time to store it and it fits perfectly into a 5 gallon bucket. Hopefully this thread has convinced a few people to look into portable units.....that was the goal.

__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 04:21 PM   #30
hedge_fund
Planted Tank Guru
 
hedge_fund's Avatar
 
PTrader: (97/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greenwich, CT
Posts: 3,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acitydweller View Post
is it advised to drain all the water out for storage?
Not sure, I hope someone chimes in on this. Mine still has water in it but I don't see how that would be bad. My parents have an RO unit under their sink and there is always water in it.
hedge_fund is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012