Pressurized CO2 to two tanks?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2003, 04:25 AM   #1
Grendel
Planted Member
 
Grendel's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 183
Default

My pressurized CO2 is running to my 29 gallon currently (Aqua Medic regulator and needle valve), but I'd like to also run some tubing into my 20 gallon in the next room.

Questions:
*Can I just get a T splitter and run a second line to the second tank without problem? I assume, since the second tank is smaller, I'd have to turn down the CO2 so as not to overdo it (thereby putting more CO2 than normal in one, and less than normal in the other), but I'm not sure.

*If I do need a second needle valve, is there a way to get an in-line valve? Or would I need to spring for a manifold of some kind?

*The line to the second tank has to travel about 20 feet (down into the crawlspace and up into the next room). Will this cause pressure problems in the line? If so, what would I need to counter it?

*I'm currently running the CO2 into the intake on a powerhead, which spits fine bubbles toward the HOB filter intake. Is this just stupid and inefficient? I like this set-up because of the added circulation and the ease of counting bubbles, but can spring for some Hagen bubble ramps if they'll be a significant improvement.

Thanks!


G
Grendel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2003, 12:27 PM   #2
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

For a 20 foot run you will want to run copper tubing. Or some high quality CO2 proof tubing. And you will need a second needle valve. You can get a needle valve adapted to in-line use. The Clippard that most of us use just needs a second barb to be used as such. For a run as long as your run will be you want the second needle valve to be as close to the tank as possible so in-line is the way to go. If you don't have a local Clippard distributor close to you then contact me and I can pick up what you need.

It sounds like your current method of diffusing the CO2 is not that efficient. To really know you would need to know your pH with the CO2 running and the pH without it running. Also your kH. Then you can use the CO2 chart and see just how much difference there is. But on first glance I can tell you it's probably not making a lot of difference.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 12:33 PM   #3
Doomer
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The Boondocks
Posts: 468
Default

Might be kinda hard to do given that the Aqua Medic needle valve is non removable. The bubble rate could never exceed that of the other tank.

Yes, you'll need a "T" and another needle valve. A Clippard MNV-4K2 with the proper fitting for inline use would work.

Foe a run that long I'd use copper tubing.

If you're seeing bubbles at the surface of the tank then you're loosing co2 to the atmosphere. A good co2 reactor works much better than running it into a filter. An external reactor is best since it doesn't take up space in the tank. You can make your own. Lots of plans out there.
Doomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 10:07 PM   #4
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

If the Aqua Medic needle valve is non-removable then the best thing to do would be open it wide open, run the output into a manifold and then with two MORE needle valves control the tanks. You can get a four port manifold for around $5 so it's not really a big expense.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2003, 06:12 AM   #5
Grendel
Planted Member
 
Grendel's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 183
Default

Thanks for the replies - big help.

Does anyone know of an on-line vendor that sells just the bubble ramps from Hagen's CO2 system? I know I've seen a site linked somewhere.


G
__________________
Walker of the world's wierd wall.

www.taghillcards.com
Grendel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2003, 12:21 PM   #6
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

I think most of the larger on-line stores sell just the bubble counter/diffuser.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cloudy tanks aychamo Algae 5 07-29-2004 04:07 PM
Planted tanks suck! aychamo General Planted Tank Discussion 6 07-28-2004 07:50 AM
Old tanks (how long do the seals hold?) fedge Equipment 2 06-14-2004 11:29 PM
Internal inline reactor ... providing DIY CO2 for larger tanks Wasserpest General Planted Tank Discussion 2 06-02-2004 06:27 PM
Lighting for 4 tanks reddstagg Lighting 3 02-04-2004 09:50 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012