My 265g low tech
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2012, 06:46 PM   #1
bloo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: fl
Posts: 115
Default

My 265g low tech




My 265g Lowtech little over a year old. 84"x24" footprint. 30" tall.

2xT5HO over the whole length (2x4' and 2x3') about 36" over the substrate with good reflectors, 10 hour photoperiod.

Fluval FX5 canister. Tunze streams on a controller for circulation (overkill but I had them when I converted from reef).

One overflow on this tank is plumbed outside. I pump my RO waste water into the tank (drinking + 55g reef) and it overflows to the garden. No work water changes AND I water the garden AND I don't waste my RO waste water for my drinking/reef. I mean NONE. The other overflow is just plugged and I run the canister output into it and let it overflow into the tank. This means no sump even though the tank is drilled.

Substrate is miracle grow 'organic choice' capped with Flourite Black sand. About 2-3 inches.

No ferts. I started with ferts (ala Tom Barr low tech) but have found them unnecessary. Probably because of the large amount of RO waste water I put in constantly. I haven't tested it, but I assume it is a nice source of nitrates and phosphates on top of the soil substrate. Just a guess there, but my work tank needs weekly ferts and this tank doesn't.

You can see I'm still working on the java fern to cover the overflows. The left side is farther along, the right I just got planted a few weeks ago. All that java fern came from my work 65g tank low tech, which grows a ridiculous amount of it. I can't wait for it to finish growing out, because the ugly overflows have been the worst part of the tank. I'm almost there!

This has been, by a wide margin, the easiest tank I've ever set up. At least once all the setup and planting were finished (that wasn't so easy).

Plants:

Crypt parva
Crypt lutea
Crypt Balansae
Crypt Wendtii 'mi oya'
Java Fern 'needle leaf'

Fish:

13 Denison Barbs
20 Tiger Barbs
7 Panda Cories (just from a broken down tank, nowhere else to put em!)
Soon I'll finally be adding the rainbows. Boseman and Praecox. Then I'm done. I think.

Any comments appreciated! Except ones about my poor photography skills!
bloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2012, 06:54 PM   #2
jcgd
Wannabe Guru
 
jcgd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,985
Send a message via MSN to jcgd
Default

Holy crow, RO waste water only? Have you ever tested that water? I assume it would be very hard.

Looks amazing!
jcgd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 06:59 PM   #3
bloo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: fl
Posts: 115
Default

I've only checked the pH and it runs 7.7-7.8. It is only about 20% more concentrated than my tap. I'm sure its hard but not nearly as hard as some people get straight out of the tap. Never had a problem.
bloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 07:53 PM   #4
jcgd
Wannabe Guru
 
jcgd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,985
Send a message via MSN to jcgd
Default

Very cool, and very nice setup you have here. I have some questions for you.

You said the second overflow drains outside. Do you run a sump? If so, how do you get the water to drain out of the system rather than simply increasing the volume in the sump?
jcgd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 08:06 PM   #5
f8puffy
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Menifee
Posts: 65
Default

Simple, simple, simple...and yet, still awesome. I love it. Good work man
f8puffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 08:25 PM   #6
~Volatile~
Algae Grower
 
~Volatile~'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 24
Default

Looks great! Love the jungle-y look
~Volatile~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 12:21 PM   #7
bloo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: fl
Posts: 115
Default

Thanks for the compliments everyone.

jcgd, I have no sump. The tank is drilled with 2 overflows. The left overflow is plumbed to drain to my garden. I ran pvc through the wall of my house, then attached it to a garden hose that I move around in the garden to water my veggies at a slow flow when the RO sends waste water to the tank. The right overflow is plugged, so it is just a chamber in the tank. I run the canister output into that overflow, but instead of flowing under the tank it comes out backwards and flows INTO the tank over the top weir of the overflow.

I hope I described that well enough. It is a lot simpler than it sounds.
bloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 04:00 PM   #8
jcgd
Wannabe Guru
 
jcgd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,985
Send a message via MSN to jcgd
Default

No that makes perfect sense and sounds very simple. That is what I was planning on doing (with a cannister and overflow) but I am trying to figure out how to use a sump. Your method is probably much simpler overall. Thanks for the explanation.
jcgd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 05:19 PM   #9
bloo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: fl
Posts: 115
Default

Sumps have their place, but I wanted to reuse my RO waste water more than I wanted a sump so I went this route.
bloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012