DIY Soil only substrate.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2012, 01:54 AM   #1
Zefrik
Wannabe Guru
 
Zefrik's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Posts: 1,026
Default

DIY Soil only substrate.


I was just outside an hour ago digging up some flower and transplanting them. I finished and I had a a pile of moist soil/clay/dirt/sand sitting in front of me. I grabbed some of it and and worked it into a ball. As I was looking at the ball it kind of reminded me of a huge piece of ADA aquasoil. I started making smaller pellets down to around half to quarter of an inch in diameter. I then broke those into smaller balls so they had a diameter of around 4-8mm. I put them in a bowl a misted it with water and spun the bowl around for a few minutes so they would get very spherical. They actually really started to look like aquasoil! I don't know if they have the same ingredients or anything. I also don't know if they will hold together correctly. I have about 2 dozen pellets in a cup with water and I will watch them for a few days. I will also try to figure out a way to produce them quicker and in larger quantities. I might just be wasting my just be wasting my time, but I will give it a try as an experiment. I probably never have enough to actually use. Let me know what you think about it, and if you have any tips as to the moisture of the soil while making them.
Zefrik is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-28-2012, 03:24 AM   #2
jasonpatterson
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Macedonia, OH
Posts: 1,599
Default

I have to think that once they've soaked in water it's going to turn into mud. If you have some way to fire them it might hold together though, who knows? At the very least, you've got the beginnings of a mud tank.
jasonpatterson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 04:35 AM   #3
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,364
Default

If you don't want to cap this with something like pool filter sand, you do need to bake the particles, or bake them, then break them up. I don't know what would be the appropriate temperature, but my guess is it would be 400F or higher. That's going to be a lot of work for enough substrate for anything except a nano tank.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
ada, aquasoil, dirt, diy, substrate

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012