To many GPH?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion > Ponds


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2012, 04:37 AM   #1
RATTIE
Algae Grower
 
RATTIE's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Perris, Ca
Posts: 77
Default

To many GPH?


I have a 100 gallon pond with 4 single tail and 3 double tail goldfish. Right now I have 2 filters on it but there is only 430 gph. That was fine at frist but they are growing fast so I built a skippy filter but still have to buy the pump for it but I am worried about my double tail goldfish getting sucked to the filter intake. One is a ryukin that has swim bladder issues so it can't swim very good. What can I do to prevent it getting stuck to the intake? I will be getting a 1000 gph pump.
RATTIE is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-06-2012, 08:07 PM   #2
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,406
Default

Here are 4 ways to reduce the pressure at the intake yet still have lots of flow:

Put a large sponge over the intake. The larger the surface area of the sponge the less pressure per square inch might be holding the fish stuck to the sponge. Use a piece of PVC that is drilled full of holes inside the sponge. 1" PVC, a foot long, with LOTS of 1/4" diameter holes.

You could also split the intake into several parts, and put sponges over each part. You can do this with PVC Tees and other fittings. For 1000gph I would use at least 1" PVC for each intake, and they might all come together into 1-1/4" pipe (depends on how the pump is plumbed, and the layout of pipe inside the pond)

Another way to make this work is to make the intake of a piece of PVC that is drilled full of holes and bury the intake in the gravel (if it is gravel).

The fourth possibility is to screen off part of the pond with some screening and put a sheet of foam there. Then the intake is behind the foam.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2012, 10:10 PM   #3
RATTIE
Algae Grower
 
RATTIE's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Perris, Ca
Posts: 77
Default

Thanks I'll try those.
RATTIE is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2012, 11:42 PM   #4
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,406
Default

Here is an 'All In One' illustration:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pond filter options.JPG
Views:	19
Size:	60.0 KB
ID:	45176  

Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012