Red chilli information
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion > Riparium/Terrarium/Vivarium

Old 03-23-2012, 03:27 AM   #1
schoolzoo
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Red chilli information

I have a 25 gallon set up in a science classroom as a terrarium. |I"ll try to post pictures in the near future. Nothing fancy as this is my first attempt. There are 4 goldfish, and 5 smaller feeder type fish. With in the last month I have added 2 red chilli crabs. I was lucky enough to get a male and a female. Now my female appears to be loaded with eggs.
Does anyone have any suggestions to successfully see some of the young hatch and grow? I'm thinking of taking her out of the tank and putting her into a plastic tub with land access and filtration so the fish don't eat the young.
schoolzoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-23-2012, 07:20 PM   #2
schoolzoo
Algae Grower

Ok, I've done some more reading and I know that our set up isn 't that impressive in comparission to some the others out there, but here is what I've been able to find out on my own so far - she should carry her eggs for a few weeks, and the babies will be a larvae at first. She can carry up to 1000 eggs at a time. I've also discovered that the chances of survival aren't in our favour as water contitions need to be perfect.

The first attached picture is our set up, the second is our female crab.

It is also important to note that is set up in a science classroom, and my students are responsible for most of the care. We are learning together about the crabs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	039.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	93.9 KB
ID:	44492  

Name:	038.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	52.8 KB
ID:	44493  

Old 03-23-2012, 10:29 PM   #3
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe

PTrader: (430/100%)