First Planted Tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum

Old 03-13-2012, 10:55 PM   #1
Msigler
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

First Planted Tank

Hi guys. After lurking here for a week or so I decided to start up a planted tank.
I currently keep a reef aquarium and have for about 13 years but I am a total noob with freshwater aquariums.
I had an old 10 gallon aquarium laying around and a heater to use. I set the aquarium up, brought the water to temp and added a little bacter booster. Then I went to the LFS and grabbed half a dozen plants or so along with the basics. I also grabbed a betta and named him master. I couldn't find flourite substrate locally so I just used regular gravel. I am going to order some dry ferts online and maybe the hagen natural Co2 system. Anyway, advice always welcome and appreciated. Here are some bacteria bloom pics I just snapped.

Msigler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-14-2012, 01:11 AM   #2
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (74/100%)

Don't overdo the light. That is a typical mistake made by Reef tank keepers who start a planted tank.
Old 03-14-2012, 02:53 AM   #3
Msigler
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoppy View Post
Don't overdo the light. That is a typical mistake made by Reef tank keepers who start a planted tank.
Yea lol. My first thought was oh boy I can get more metal halides. After further reading I decided on a hood with two 10w U-tube cfl's. I figured two watts per gallon would be ok. Yea?
Old 03-14-2012, 11:12 PM   #4
GMYukonon24s
Planted Tank Guru

I would raise the light a few inches.
GMYukonon24s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 06:48 AM   #5
Msigler
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by GMYukonon24s View Post
I would raise the light a few inches.