Need help wiring retrofit T5HO lighting
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2012, 08:34 PM   #1
AUvet14
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
AUvet14's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 455
Default

Need help wiring retrofit T5HO lighting


I just got a fulham workhorse 5 fluorescent light ballast and endcaps, power cord, etc. that I need to retrofit my lighting in my new canopy. I've looked at the wiring diagrams provided on the fulham website for wiring 2 39W T5HO tubes but there is one thing I am hung up on. I have to ground the ballast somehow. My power cord I am connecting to the ballast has a hot lead (black), neutral (white), and grounding wire (green) but the ballast only has a hot (black) and neutral (white). Does anyone know what I need to do to properly ground the ballast?
AUvet14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2012, 08:57 PM   #2
livingword26
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 978
Default

Hook the green wire to the bolt or screw you use to attach the ballast to whatever it is attached to.
__________________
29 gallon, Fluval 306. Aquatop PF25-UV Power Filter, 1x39 watt T5HO 7" above tank. P.F. Sand, Pressurized CO2, 5 Glowlight Tetra's, 3 Halequin Rasborah's, 3 neons, 2 Oto's, 5 Cherry Shrimp, 4 Amano Shrimp.
livingword26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 09:14 PM   #3
AUvet14
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
AUvet14's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 455
Default

So it's just that simple? That's what I was thinking I had to do, but I wasn't confident enough in that to go ahead and do it without verifying that first. Thanks.
AUvet14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 11:53 PM   #4
PlantedRich
Planted Tank Guru
 
PlantedRich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pflugerville, Tx
Posts: 4,425
Default

The ground is a pretty technical point that many don't really have options to use. In this case it can act as a case ground. Just connect it to the metal of the ballast or reflector. Often the mounting screw will be a handy thing to use. The ground and the white will both go back to the same point in the breaker box but it just doubles up on grounding.
PlantedRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012