Advice on Planted Nano
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks

Old 03-05-2012, 04:32 AM   #1
Walsh
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Advice on Planted Nano

First time posting here, i'm not exactly new to fish, but i'm new to plants.

I'm using a 5.5 gallon aquarium with one of those light fixtures that you get from Petsmart/Co. Honestly don't care for it, but it works. I found a bulb that is 5000k and 25 watts. Is the wattage for this too much? Also, I am going to be getting a glass top for it with a few notches cut out for tubing to come out, so it can be a complete cover.

I made a CO2 Reactor out of a big apple juice bottle and it has a bubble counter as well, i'm at about 1 bubble a second.

Currently there is a big HoB Filter on it, but I want to get rid of it for a smaller DIY Internal Filter. I am making it out of one of the spice containers and it will be air pump powered, but I'm not 100% on the media I will be using.

I'm using about 1" of playsand as substrate, nothing else. Is this okay or with plants do I have to have fertilizer stuff?

I don't have a heater yet, but currently the water is 72 F, is there any way i can raise the water temp a little bit without having to buy a heater, i'm trying to make this as cheap as I can.

There is nothing living in it yet, the project is still in progress, its been up for about a week. I want to keep Red Cherry Shrimp in there. How many can I keep in something this size, I definitely do NOT want to breed them, so i'm going to try to get all the same gender, which will be a pain i'm sure.

Also, I know very little about plants. What kind of plants would look really nice and do well in this?

I don't currently have anything to check the PH or anything like that. Yet.

Advice/comments, that sort of thing? Thank you