2.5g Betta Tank!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks

Old 02-28-2012, 12:18 AM   #1
AquaKai
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)

2.5g Betta Tank!

Hello! I'm fairly new to this whole planting thing. I posted a thread in the tank journal thing, but no responses in a little over a day, so I think the people who scan the nano section might be able to help.

I have a 2.5g Mini Bowfront aquarium:

Here are my questions:

I've read that I can use regular Miracle Grow in my tank if I bake it or soak it. Is that true? How much will I need of the soil (inch wise) and of the sand to cover it?

I have a 15w Compact Flourecent Light bulb with 900 lumens. Where would that leave me with plants?

Should I attempt DIY CO2? I'm not sure about this and don't want to invest too much into it.

What plants? I have java moss, xmas moss, anubais afzelii, marimo balls, wisteria and moneywort. I'd like to try (just ideas) HC, DHG, Anubais nana peite, dwarf sag, blxya japonica, frogbits or some other floater, riccia, java fern narrow leaf, hygrophila, or straugyne sp. 'porto velho'.

Any help would be great!

Also, I have some pictures of the tank and driftwood and rocks. If you think that a certain one should go in the tank please tell me! I'd love to hear your opinion!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-28-2012, 12:37 AM   #2
AquaStudent
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (10/100%)

welcome to the planted side of the hobby. You can definitely use Miracle Grow but be sure it's the organic mix. If there are artificial ferts in the mix it'll fry anything you put in the tank. My 5g in fact was dirted using Miracle Grow.