eco complete yes or no
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2012, 07:39 PM   #1
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,660
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

eco complete yes or no


so i need to redo a 10 gal and was thinking of trying this since i dont do ferts of any kind. how is it with shrimp? any one who has tried it do you like it or no. im open to any other plant substrates that dont cost and arm and leg like the ada soils that is way out of budges. i also like the dark color so if you all could recoment something that is dark that works better please let me know
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-21-2012, 07:42 PM   #2
diwu13
Planted Tank Guru
 
diwu13's Avatar
 
PTrader: (24/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Willimantic, CT
Posts: 6,168
Default

Eco-complete is inert for all shrimp purposes.
__________________
Fish Shrimp tanks are like cups of coffee, one is never enough.

ヽ( ゚ヮ゚)ノ.・゚*。・+☆ Twin 10G Shrimp Tanks & 20L Grow Out Tank
diwu13 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 07:46 PM   #3
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

I have a mix of eco and a small amount of fluval in my yellow, fire red and tiger tank and they are all breeding like crazy. No problems here with it.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 08:02 PM   #4
gtu2004
Wannabe Guru
 
gtu2004's Avatar
 
PTrader: (37/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,007
Default

i use eco-complete completely in my 3 tanks. no problem with it either. My Fire reds breed like crazy and CRS breed well (though my CRS stopped breeding for the past month, maybe because of season). My OEBTs got berried often but I saw very few babies. Not sure whether that's because of Eco-complete though I think other factors (gH, kH) are the culprits.
gtu2004 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 08:03 PM   #5
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtu2004 View Post
i use eco-complete completely in my 3 tanks. no problem with it either. My Fire reds breed like crazy and CRS breed well (though my CRS stopped breeding for the past month, maybe because of season). My OEBTs got berried often but I saw very few babies. Not sure whether that's because of Eco-complete though I think other factors (gH, kH) are the culprits.
Ya, could be pH, gH related.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2012, 01:55 AM   #6
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,660
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

does it seem to buffer the ph any or affect gh or kh
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2012, 01:57 AM   #7
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wicca27 View Post
does it seem to buffer the ph any or affect gh or kh
nope.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2012, 02:29 AM   #8
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,660
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

thats good to know. i think i might end up trying it
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2012, 04:34 AM   #9
Rainer
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 1,611
Default

Someone mentioned reports elsewhere about GH or KH spikes potentially associated with Eco Complete. That was in a thread of mine about a dying shrimp colony if you want to search.

I'm experiencing pH and GH spikes in the 5g and am conducting tests. I'll report back in a couple days.
__________________
29g high tech, 10g low tech halfmoon, and please see my 5g crescent journal.
Rainer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2012, 02:51 PM   #10
Rainer
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 1,611
Default

Here's a thread about problems with a similar product from the same company:

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=165974

KH/pH creeping up / SOLVED - Floramax is the culprit
__________________
29g high tech, 10g low tech halfmoon, and please see my 5g crescent journal.
Rainer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2012, 04:09 PM   #11
hedge_fund
Planted Tank Guru
 
hedge_fund's Avatar
 
PTrader: (93/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greenwich, CT
Posts: 3,350
Default

I just spent the last weekend removing every little bit of my ecocomplete and replaced it with regular gravel which will not leech anything into my water column. I've had terrible luck with the EC in my tank....couldn't take it anymore so I took it out. My TDS was 200+ even though I had nothing else in the tank that would raise it so much...heck, my tap is around 150.

This substate seems to be hit or miss. I'm not the only one that reported problems here in the past...you'll see a new thread every few months pop up stating the same problems.
hedge_fund is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2012, 04:36 PM   #12
jasonpatterson
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Macedonia, OH
Posts: 1,599
Default

I can't say anything about ecocomplete, but carbisea's floramax was contaminated with what appeared to be chips of limestone (could have been shells/coral, who knows) and caused me 2 months of headaches. In addition to hedge_fund and I, jimko also apparently had Caribsea problems (his were with eco complete) but a number of people here report that they have not. I know that after I identified my problem, I went to PetSmart and checked out the bags of Floramax on the shelf, and all of them contained white chips similar to the ones that gave me grief.

I don't think it's intentional, but it seems like Caribsea has serious quality control issues. I won't be buying their products again, but if you have your heart set on it, I would check out the substrate you buy before you set up your tank. Buy the amount you want, take a healthy sample, wash it thoroughly with whatever what you're going to use in the tank, and put it in a clean bucket. Test a sample of that water (the future tank water) and add enough to cover your sample. Put a lid on your container to prevent excessive evaporation. Wait a week and retest to see if your sample is contaminated. Also, if you see any white chips in the stuff prior to purchasing, don't buy it, or if you see them after you open the bag, take one out and put it in a cup of vinegar. If it fizzes, don't use the substrate.
jasonpatterson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2012, 04:39 PM   #13
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

3 of my tanks have eco-fluval mix and tds is the same as the tap water I put in (minus a bit of poop and stuff), pH is the same. Hit and miss, not sure. There was no white flakes in mine, so no limestone to raise pH. Works fine for me,have hundreds of babies running around on the mixture.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2012, 04:46 PM   #14
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 3,761
Default

Do you guys just use hand held TDS meters or inline?

I will let you know I plan am using ecco complete as my bottom base and fluval shrimpstratum over it once the fluval arrives. Tank is cycling fine witht he eccocomplete no spikes no issues.
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2012, 04:48 PM   #15
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,660
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

can any one recomend a black substrate good for shrimp and plants
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012