1.5l LED bookcase pico (picture heavy)
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks

Old 02-17-2012, 05:48 AM   #1
Rabidgerbil
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

1.5l LED bookcase pico (picture heavy)

So this is my first attempt at a planted tank. Ive keep reefs and salty tanks for years, but since I have no experiance with freshwater I expect a couple crash and burns before I get it right. I figure once I can keep this little guy going strong Ill be more than ready to build the tank I really want which will completly fill the shelf on my bookcase in my room that houses this tank. Because I plan on going bigger I also will be purchasing equipment with the target tank in mind.

So far Ive built a DIY LED fixture. Laid down a 2-4cm active-flora slope for a substrate. Incorperated a collected rock and prepared wood from a dead bush. Planted some dwarf hair grass and dwarf baby tears. Built a DIY yeast co2 system, and filled her up.

The obligatory FTS:

FTS 2-16-12 by theAsteroidBlues, on Flickr

So on my to buy list is (in order of importance):
•Get a canister filter (thinking eheim 2213)
•Get an inline heater
•Get an inline diffuser(atomic?)
•Get a pressurized CO2 system

I also need to mount my light and modify my bookcase to be able to access the tank better.

Questions for anyone who may want to help a newb out:
•What would be a good bubble rate for a tank of this size?
•Is my light to much for this tank? (I have no optics, and only driving at 480ma)
•Is my substrate good enough?
•What kind of water chemistry should I shjot for with these specific plants?
•Will 68F temp kill my plants?
•What kind of animals could be kept in such a small tank? I'd really love to have a fish or two but dont expect it.
•Will 100% RO water be detrimental in any way and should I be adding anything to it?

Other notes: