Depth of ADA Ammazonia for DHG and HC Cuba
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2012, 10:07 AM   #1
dazkeirle
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: England
Posts: 21
Default

Depth of ADA Ammazonia for DHG and HC Cuba


Hi all,

quick question.

In my 60l I have a thin (2mm) layer of sand on the base covered by around 1 - 1.5 cm of ADA ammazonia II.

Is this thick enough for Dwarf HAir Grass and HC Cuba root systems or should I try and build up the depth?

I have more available from another tank, i just didn't go too deep to begin with due to the change in PH for the shrimp that were living in the tank to begin with. However I dont want to go adding more if i dont have to as the extra nutrients may encourage algae growth.

Pellet sizes of the sub are quite large (coco pop sized).

Thanks
dazkeirle is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2012, 09:30 PM   #2
Xiaozhuang
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Xiaozhuang's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South east asia
Posts: 752
Send a message via MSN to Xiaozhuang
Default

Hey, I've grown hair grass and HC in 2cm deep soil before. As long as your water column is well fertilized and CO2 rich HC seems to be able to creep onto stones and wood as well. 1 cm seems really thin for a substrate though.

Large pellet size doesn't seem to affect HC growth but you might find it difficult to plant in. Also for hair grass, you can add substrate onto the planted hair grass field if you think you need more substrate, it'll just grow out.
Xiaozhuang is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 12:47 PM   #3
dazkeirle
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: England
Posts: 21
Default

Thanks for your advice.

I raised the substrate up to around 2-3 cm and everything appears to be establishing well.

I'm getting pearling on the hc anyway, so i can only assume that's good.

I'm dosing about 2 bbs of co2 while the lamp is on (about 10 hours) and everything seems nice and green.

I'm a little concerned about lack of water movement and the co2 being all in the same place, but that's for another thread
dazkeirle is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012