Fluval shrimp statum
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2012, 08:18 PM   #1
Lesley
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 278
Default

Fluval shrimp statum


I use FSS in my shrimp tank. I'm downsizing from 10g to either 2.5 or 5.5 & was wondering before I go making a mess, has anyone ever moved FSS from one tank to another? I'm thinking it's going to make a mud bowl if I try to scoop it out of the 10 & pour into the smaller tank. What's your thoughts or experiences? Thank you

PS Edit: I forgot to mention that the tank is full of juvenile & adult shrimp. What is stirring up all that mud going to do to them?

Last edited by Lesley; 02-11-2012 at 02:28 PM..
Lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2012, 08:40 PM   #2
sayurasem
SCAPEr
 
sayurasem's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Loma Linda, CA
Posts: 2,558
Default

throw away all the water you can, then scoop the substrate slowly into another tank. Fill up water super slowly.
sayurasem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 02:04 PM   #3
stangmus
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Joliet, Il
Posts: 149
Default

I used a large hose ans siphoned the stratum into a strainer over a bucket.
stangmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 03:03 PM   #4
diwu13
Planted Tank Guru
 
diwu13's Avatar
 
PTrader: (24/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Willimantic, CT
Posts: 6,168
Default

I would use a siphon. You also have to consider some of the FSS will have broken down, as all active substrates do. So do you really want to reuse all of it?
__________________
Fish Shrimp tanks are like cups of coffee, one is never enough.

ヽ( ゚ヮ゚)ノ.・゚*。・+☆ Twin 10G Shrimp Tanks & 20L Grow Out Tank
diwu13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 05:08 PM   #5
Lesley
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 278
Default

Right you are diwu13......... I am going with new FSS instead of reusing the old stuff. Thanks for help
Lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 05:12 PM   #6
jone
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 293
Default

keep in mind FSS leeches ammonia during cycling..
jone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 05:22 PM   #7
Lesley
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 278
Default

I think if I use the old stuff & either siphon or scoop it into the new smaller tank, I will have a tank full of mud. I'll try some on a smaller level just to see what happens. If I buy new, I'll have to go through a cycle again.......... Hmmmmmm...... what a dilemma I'm in now........ LOL
Lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 05:34 PM   #8
Alaizabelle
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a little town in the central valley of California!
Posts: 368
Default

I've never had a problem moving FSS, or with it leeching ammonia new. I've moved the same stuff twice now, and it was no more cloudy than the first setup

Haha, I love this stuff though, I think I'm a bit biased :P
Alaizabelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 05:51 PM   #9
Lesley
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 278
Default

Oh yeah, I love it too & even more, I think my shrimp love it just as much. I'll try moving some in a few days, still need to purchase the smaller 2.5 or 5g tank. Debating which to get. I'm leaning towards the 5g so I can divide it & have my RCS on one side and maybe Yellows or Blue Pearls on the other side.
Lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 06:24 PM   #10
jone
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 293
Default

I like FSS,,but really love Akadama..akadama does not leech ammonia,,atleast by my experiences..Akadama does not break down like FSS..atleast not as fast..
jone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 12:00 AM   #11
mocha2184
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 11
Default

How big are the grains of FSS? I'm about to set up a tank and I'm wondering how easy it's gonna be to plant in.
mocha2184 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 02:58 AM   #12
Lesley
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 278
Default

They are about the size of BB's. They are easy to plant in. A little dusty even after rinsed although I would suggest you don't rinse them as they fall apart easily & you might wash them all away. Good luck with it.
Lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 03:15 AM   #13
mocha2184
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for the info Lesley. I'm going to be planting some Staurogyne, I currently have it in some Flourite and I'm having a hard time keeping it down.
mocha2184 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 03:34 AM   #14
Lesley
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 278
Default

Flourite is good stuff, it has nutrients & ferts in it which help your plant grow. FSS does not so you will have to dose fertilizer for your plants. I use Flourish & Excel by sea-chem, works great. If you're looking for a great website to buy aquatic items try LNT.com Believe it or not it's Linens N Things. They have allot of great & inexpensive items. Good luck.
Lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 04:26 AM   #15
Alyssa
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Alyssa's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 830
Default

It sounds like you guys have the substrates mixed up a bit, unless there is some other type of Flourite I am not aware of.

Flourite is inert, so it has no nutrients for plants, that would be Aqua Soil or Flora Stratum.

Flora Stratum is a bit different than Fluval Stratum.

Fluval Stratum does not leech ammonia - Aqua Soil does.

Flourite is much heavier being basically clay gravel and thus holds plants down much easier and better than Stratum will as it is heavy, like rocks.

If you have a light hand then Stratum is okay to plant in, but if you have a heavy hand, Flourite will be easier.
__________________
ₒᴑᴼοₒᴑᴼοₒᴑᴼοₒᴑ
ٴٴٴ˚~Alyssa

SAPS | sfbaaps | SAS
My Tank(s) Blog
| TPT Clubs: RAOK Club #7 | Fraternity of Dirt #62 | ADA Club #2 |
Alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012