220g Jardini Island
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2012, 03:09 PM   #1
Craigthor
Planted Tank Guru
 
Craigthor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (188/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dubuque, IA
Posts: 9,628
Default

220g Jardini Island


Here is the beginning of our new family built tank.







__________________
Rebooting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwill View Post
"C'mon, they're just plants, man, no big deal -- try some"

Last edited by Craigthor; 07-17-2012 at 08:11 PM.. Reason: title update
Craigthor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2012, 03:29 PM   #2
150EH
Planted Tank Guru
 
150EH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (27/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Churchton, Maryland
Posts: 5,370
Default

Very nice, that is just like mine but longer, same stand and trim. I have also added something to the end of the tank to keep sunlight from beeming in and making that end full of algae. My stand wasn't tall enough to fit a 2262 underneath, are you going to use a different filter or sump?
150EH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2012, 03:30 PM   #3
Craigthor
Planted Tank Guru
 
Craigthor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (188/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dubuque, IA
Posts: 9,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 150EH View Post
Very nice, that is just like mine but longer, same stand and trim. I have also added something to the end of the tank to keep sunlight from beeming in and making that end full of algae. My stand wasn't tall enough to fit a 2262 underneath, are you going to use a different filter or sump?
My 2262s would fit but I'm having a custom sump built for under this bad boy.

Craig
__________________
Rebooting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwill View Post
"C'mon, they're just plants, man, no big deal -- try some"
Craigthor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2012, 03:37 PM   #4
150EH
Planted Tank Guru
 
150EH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (27/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Churchton, Maryland
Posts: 5,370
Default

Too cool, I would love to try a sump on another tank. It's hard to get a sense of just how large that tank is unless you are standing next to it, when I see mine at the store (empty) it seem large but I'm so used to looking at it I want more room.

Are you keeping your 150 too?
150EH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2012, 03:40 PM   #5
Craigthor
Planted Tank Guru
 
Craigthor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (188/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dubuque, IA
Posts: 9,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 150EH View Post
Too cool, I would love to try a sump on another tank. It's hard to get a sense of just how large that tank is unless you are standing next to it, when I see mine at the store (empty) it seem large but I'm so used to looking at it I want more room.

Are you keeping your 150 too?
Nope the 150 will be sold to help fund this tank. Wife is letting purchase everything first then once it is all ready to go I will transfer everything over to the 220 and sell off all of my gear from the 150. Only thing I will be keeping is my CarbonDosers, CO2 Setup, and my wave maker everything else will be new for this tank.

Craig
__________________
Rebooting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwill View Post
"C'mon, they're just plants, man, no big deal -- try some"
Craigthor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2012, 04:01 PM   #6
150EH
Planted Tank Guru
 
150EH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (27/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Churchton, Maryland
Posts: 5,370
Default

That's a good way to do it, I want to swap out my 8 year old Flourite for AS, but with the ammonia spike and 80 plus fish it will be very hard to do, I also need to re-seal the corners with new silicon so I need a 3 to 8 weeks of empty tank.

It's still going to be a lot of work but I'm curious to see what you come up with for a aqua-scape. Can you use the pumps from the 2262's or is something different required, I know if I had a pair of 2262's they would be hard to sell, emotional attachment.
150EH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2012, 04:06 PM   #7
Craigthor
Planted Tank Guru
 
Craigthor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (188/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dubuque, IA
Posts: 9,628
Default

I'll be using a Mag 24 for my return pumps. As for my auqascape I will be doing a dutch scape again. For substrate I will be using my existing AS plus some RootMedic Goodness and a bag of miracle grow potting mix to give the tank a super charged substrate. This tank will ahve fully auto dosing via a bubble magus doser. Tank will be fully powered by RootMedic fertilizers all around.

Craig
__________________
Rebooting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwill View Post
"C'mon, they're just plants, man, no big deal -- try some"
Craigthor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2012, 06:44 PM   #8
Da Plant Man
Nerd Alert.
 
Da Plant Man's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW Montana
Posts: 5,708
Default

Very nice! You still going to do a moss wall?

-Caton
__________________

RAOK CLUB #12
Wabi-kusa Pimp #1
"99% of the time, a fish tank with plants will fail. Once you start a dedicated planted tank with fish, then you begin to succeed." - Geniusdudekiran
Da Plant Man is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2012, 06:49 PM   #9
Craigthor
Planted Tank Guru
 
Craigthor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (188/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dubuque, IA
Posts: 9,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Plant Man View Post
Very nice! You still going to do a moss wall?

-Caton
That I am all the way around except for the overflows won't have moss on them.

Tank is full and sitting here took a bit of work but the bulkheads are now leak free. Will drain it tonite or tomorrow after making sure it is comepletely leak free then I will have to wait for my custom sump to be built about 4-5 weeks lead time on that plus get some other toys.

Once this is setup I will ahve lots of equipment from my 150 up for grabs.

Craig
__________________
Rebooting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwill View Post
"C'mon, they're just plants, man, no big deal -- try some"
Craigthor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2012, 10:55 PM   #10
The Gipper
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woods of Ohio
Posts: 105
Default

Wow awesome tank, I assume its 24 inch front to back? I followed your 150 journal from beginning...I've ordered a 190gal (72x24x26) it will take 6-8 weeks. What are you going to do for lighting on this one?
The Gipper is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2012, 11:20 PM   #11
Craigthor
Planted Tank Guru
 
Craigthor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (188/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dubuque, IA
Posts: 9,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Gipper View Post
Wow awesome tank, I assume its 24 inch front to back? I followed your 150 journal from beginning...I've ordered a 190gal (72x24x26) it will take 6-8 weeks. What are you going to do for lighting on this one?
Probably use my existing light fixture though there is a really nice 39 watt x 12 T5HO fixture a couple hours away that would look stunning over this tank.

Yes it is 24 front to back 72x24x30 tall

Craig
__________________
Rebooting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwill View Post
"C'mon, they're just plants, man, no big deal -- try some"
Craigthor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2012, 04:27 AM   #12
Jeromeit
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 956
Default

Sickk!!!! U must be exhausted though!
__________________
Jeromeit is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2012, 04:46 AM   #13
jkan0228
Planted Tank Guru
 
jkan0228's Avatar
 
PTrader: (115/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Posts: 5,484
Default

Can't wait how great this will turn out... Don't disappoint us craig!
jkan0228 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2012, 03:18 AM   #14
rockwood
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cookeville, TN
Posts: 441
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craigthor View Post
For substrate I will be using my existing AS plus some RootMedic Goodness and a bag of miracle grow potting mix to give the tank a super charged substrate.
Craig, I know a lot of people use it but I would URGE you very wholeheartedly to NOT put the potting mix in there.

I used the potting mix and it was doing fine. However, I went to shift my wood at one point, and I broke the sand top layer. A volcano of dirt and gases erupted into the water. I almost lost my fish, I lost pretty much all of my shrimp a few cories and an otto.

When I started taking the dirt out it smelled awful. Apparently it broke down something awful and wasn't venting properly, even though I made sure to keep the sand to no more than 1" deep.

Right now I'm running it with straight sand (and the plants are suffering) until I can move later this summer and put together an order for AS.

I know some people have luck with dirt, but considering the size of this tank any issues like I had would be a train wreck.
__________________
rockwood is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2012, 11:35 AM   #15
Craigthor
Planted Tank Guru
 
Craigthor's Avatar
 
PTrader: (188/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dubuque, IA
Posts: 9,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockwood View Post
Craig, I know a lot of people use it but I would URGE you very wholeheartedly to NOT put the potting mix in there.

I used the potting mix and it was doing fine. However, I went to shift my wood at one point, and I broke the sand top layer. A volcano of dirt and gases erupted into the water. I almost lost my fish, I lost pretty much all of my shrimp a few cories and an otto.

When I started taking the dirt out it smelled awful. Apparently it broke down something awful and wasn't venting properly, even though I made sure to keep the sand to no more than 1" deep.

Right now I'm running it with straight sand (and the plants are suffering) until I can move later this summer and put together an order for AS.

I know some people have luck with dirt, but considering the size of this tank any issues like I had would be a train wreck.
Just curious how thick your dirt layer was, they don't recommend much over 1" max on the dirt and it can compact. I will be usign probably 1/2" or less in my setup. Also with zero hardscape and a fully dutch setup the roots from teh plants should do it well.

Craig
__________________
Rebooting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwill View Post
"C'mon, they're just plants, man, no big deal -- try some"
Craigthor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012