Really need your help on my first soil substrate
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate

Old 02-08-2012, 10:32 PM   #1
Henri
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Really need your help on my first soil substrate

Hi everyone!
After getting a new and bigger tank today, I decided I'm going to make it heavily planted and have read absolutely good opinions about soil substrate, I'm mostly doing this because I don't want to deal with root tabs, I can't find them anywhere around here and if I buy online the shipping to my country will cost about $15. It's true that root feeders don't need root tabs with a soil substrate right? These are the plants I mostly have.
So can anyone help me with this? I'm very excited and am hoping to do this this weekend. I'm also a total beginner, all the plants I've kept so far are java moss, java fern and hornwort.
So what am I suposed to do? I've got the soil, it has no chemicals such as fertilizers or pesticides. The soil has been used as planting soil for about 1,5 - 2 years, it hasn't lost all it's " nutritional values ", has it?
What else do I need? I'm not looking to make anything complex, just a bottom layer of soil and gravel on top of it. So my point is, I can't do much on getting ky hands on some clay if that's needed.
- Another question is, how much or how many inches of soil do I have to put on the tank and how many gravel do I have to put in to cover the soil? I'd love the look of a thick substrate, so I wont spare the soil used.
How much of each (soil, gravel)?
- Do I need to dose liquid ferts weekly? It's okay even if I need to, I can dose.
- Oh and also, do I ever need to replace the substrate? I mean the soil, do I ever need to replace it with new one? Will it ever lose it's nutrients?