CO2 tank drains after a month
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2012, 03:21 AM   #1
229oz
Algae Grower
 
229oz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montclair, NJ
Posts: 40
Default

CO2 tank drains after a month


I am running a co2 system with a 10lb tank and a JBJ solenoid. I run about 2 bubbles per second on a 8 hr interval. This is up from 1 bps, which I used to run. The tank is heavily planted.
Recently (last three fills) the tank has been running out after a month.
Is it possible to drain a 10 lb tank this quickly or is my solenoid leaking? Any ways to test to see where the leak might be? I do have a Plastic washer inside the screw valve b/t the solenoid and the tank.
This is getting expensive to keep filling the tank.
Any insight would be appreciated.
229oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2012, 03:23 AM   #2
Dave-H
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Denver, CO & Phang-Nga, Thailand
Posts: 2,387
Default

You have a leak. Search around and find ways to isolate different sections of teh system to find out what section the leak is in, then use soapy water to actually find it.
__________________

"The fewer our wants, the nearer we resemble the gods." Socrates

Dave-H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 03:39 AM   #3
tetra73
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,798
Default

Leak and pretty big too. My tank 10lb lasts me 3 1/2 months on more than 10+ bps. I could no longer count them.
__________________

Canon Pimp Club #005
tetra73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 05:12 AM   #4
samamorgan
Wannabe Guru
 
samamorgan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via MSN to samamorgan Send a message via Skype™ to samamorgan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tetra73 View Post
Leak and pretty big too. My tank 10lb lasts me 3 1/2 months on more than 10+ bps. I could no longer count them.
What the hell are you running that you need 10bps? 300 gallon or something? Lol, just curious.
__________________
LED Lighting Compendium
20 Long Rimess w/LEDs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ludwig van Beethoven
Don't only practice your art, but force your way into it's secrets, for it and knowledge can raise men to the divine.
samamorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 05:17 AM   #5
inkslinger
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Taunton ,MA
Posts: 1,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tetra73 View Post
Leak and pretty big too. My tank 10lb lasts me 3 1/2 months on more than 10+ bps. I could no longer count them.
Same here but my last a whole year on a 110g tank.
inkslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 05:46 AM   #6
Aquaticfan
Wannabe Guru
 
Aquaticfan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,200
Default

Definitly a leak.. I wouldnt say a huge one. But its a leak. As others have mentioned pressure test it, Make sure you have a good washer in between the CGA320 fitting and the tank. Make sure no leaks around the gauges. Use soapy water with a fine mist spray to check the Pipe and tube joints, Just dont soak your Solenoid. (if your using one)

With that many bps you should last more then 6 months on a 5lb refill.
Aquaticfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 06:55 PM   #7
WATduh
Planted Member
 
WATduh's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 256
Send a message via Skype™ to WATduh
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samamorgan View Post
What the hell are you running that you need 10bps? 300 gallon or something? Lol, just curious.
I gotta know too! You could brew beer from your tank. lol
__________________
50b Amazonian Biotype "Arroyo Negro"
Check my latest tank videos below:
http://youtu.be/zszx_5SNz2A
~02-28-2012 Update Video
http://youtu.be/c8_oODcp5Rs
~Dripping in New Otos
WATduh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 08:19 PM   #8
tetra73
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samamorgan View Post
What the hell are you running that you need 10bps? 300 gallon or something? Lol, just curious.

Come on, that little bubbles from the little glass bubble counter? That's not a lot of CO2 per bubble. Here is my tank 40g:


With all those plant mass and 2 biowheels (Marineland Emperor HOB filter)? I would need that much CO2 to get my drop checker to turn light yellow within 2 hours. I don't mind. It only costs me $18 to fill up the tank.
__________________

Canon Pimp Club #005
tetra73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012