What substrate are you using
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Forums > The Lounge & Introductions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2013, 08:39 PM   #1
oneil
Algae Grower
 
oneil's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: north hills, ca
Posts: 11
Default

What substrate are you using


I have a 150g and used ADA soil which was kinda expensive. I will be setting up a 250G hi-tech for my friend and he wants to use something other than ADA.

I know ADA is the bench mark for substrates, but what other soil are you using and with what results. Please post pics if have some.
oneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2013, 08:44 PM   #2
bankruptjojo
Planted Member
 
bankruptjojo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: KCMO
Posts: 244
Default

i am using fluval stratum in 3 tanks and its ok. im also using UP aqua soil in my 75g and really like it. it is about the same as ADA from what i can tell but much cheaper. i got it on GLA.

other then aqua soils the closest thing would be caped dirt. blasting sand is a cheap cap at only $9 a bag.
__________________
8g Fluval 1M CT Betta
125g 5 Blood parrots, 1 Green Severum, 8 Dension Barbs, 10 Yoyo Loaches, 1 RTS
75g Angelfish, 3 EBGR, 4 Siames Alage Eaters, 12 Harlequin Rasboars, 1 BN Pleco, 1 Swordtail
33g long cherry shrimp, 8 pygmy corys, 5 ottos
15g 2 GBR
bankruptjojo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 08:51 PM   #3
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,091
Default

I mostly use a mix of Red and Black Flourite over some Kitty Litter over some peat. Pictures available via signature link.

No experience with ADA soil but if you look at plantbrain's excellent behemoth thread it will make you think twice...
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 10:30 PM   #4
Bubba Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 349
Default

soil or peat with flourite topping, mind you if you have corys it's better to get sand as to protect their barbels.
__________________
So a guy walks into a Pet Store

Guy: "I have Algae on my drift wood!"

Pet Clerk: "Take two Plecos and call me next week."



EHEIM Classic 2213
Check out my blog
tsturgeonblog.wordpress.com/
Bubba Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 10:55 PM   #5
oneil
Algae Grower
 
oneil's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: north hills, ca
Posts: 11
Default What substrate are you using

Few people told me Fluval substrate is pretty good. Has anyone have any luck with it?
oneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 11:20 PM   #6
tao
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 86
Default

clay + mineralized compost/manure/topsoil (Ca/Mg/Fe/potash/boron) + aquasoil topped with sand

Works great since there's aquasoil for anything with really shallow roots, like most foregrounds. And there's some good minerals available for plants that would ordinarily require root tabs. The only downside would be that mine always leeches for over a month. Also pulling plants up causes issues.
__________________
On holiday.
tao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 12:40 AM   #7
AguaTropical
Planted Member
 
AguaTropical's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 267
Default

I use Eco-complete with a black diamond blasting grit as a cap! It has been working well for me!
__________________
I literally love my aquarium(s).

20L Rimless
40G Breeder Tank
AguaTropical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 01:28 AM   #8
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

My substrate is ever evolving as I don't throw it away, just add more when changing tanks. So the base is 15 year old mulm! Some smooth gravel mixed with Schultz's Aquatic Soil and the newest addition of SafeTSorb is most of it of course. Currently using home made red clay fertilizer tabs and originally did use laterite in the bottom half of the substrate. I really like the STS and would buy it again in a flash. It has high CEC which means it strips hardness at first, takes some work to rinse as it is dusty and is light weight so can be a challenge to plant in but the color and particle size is really nice and the price - $10 for 40 pounds shipped. My 180 gallon tank might need 3 bags if I replaced all the substrate that is in there now. Photos in the signature link.
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 01:51 AM   #9
marley_kitty
Algae Grower
 
marley_kitty's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 69
Default fluval stratum

I'm using the Fluval Stratum in my 20 gallon right now and I'm really happy with it. I don't have any experience with any other plant specific substrates so I can't compare those but I can tell you my rooting plants like the Stratum 100% better then regular aquarium gravel. I also have the Fluval Shrimp Stratum in my shrimp tank and my glosso absolutely loves it. The shrimp stratum has smaller, lighter granules than the regular Stratum which kinda made planting a pain in the ass.

The only reason I went with the Stratum was it the local availability. I can't stand paying for shipping, especially up here in Canada it's insane But even if I had other options now I'd probably still buy the Stratum because my plants love it so much.
__________________
Sometimes I wish my hobby didn't involve water
marley_kitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 04:50 AM   #10
plantbrain
Planted Tank Guru
 
plantbrain's Avatar
 
PTrader: (255/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The swamp
Posts: 13,342
Default

For larger tanks, Ecocomplete seems to be the better option due to not having to clean 300-400lbs of gravel.

I'm personally not fond of the new multi color 4 type of stuff they are now selling, but it's okay.

Soil/ADA/clay based stuff tends to cause a lot of headaches at larger scales for various tanks and users.

Muck and mud and cloudiness, these are much less of an issue for smaller tanks, or for folks who do not mind tearing the tank down completely and redoing it from the ground up anytime they want to move things around. This means buying new soil each time you do this and more labor.

A 3rd option is black flourite, nice color, 2 sizes regular and then the sand is really nice IME.

But washing it is a bit of work.
It will last forever.

Plain old sand works also.
__________________
Regards,
Tom Barr
plantbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 04:52 AM   #11
zico_aqua
Planted Member
 
zico_aqua's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: India
Posts: 176
Default

I personally use controsoil in all my tanks.
__________________
Abhradip Choudhuri

Good judgement comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgement.


Few of my works
zico_aqua is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 03:51 PM   #12
oneil
Algae Grower
 
oneil's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: north hills, ca
Posts: 11
Default What substrate are you using

That's a wide variety of soil that everyone is using and everyone has success. I am going to go with Fuval substrate for my friends tank but it's not readily available at my lfs so they might have to order it. This brings me to my next topic for another time. What products would you like to see in your local fish store. Look out for it.
Thanks so much for your valuable inputs.
oneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 04:45 PM   #13
DogFish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Gone
Posts: 5,988
Default

MTS & Play Sand are my substrate of choice. I have none of the reputed headaches that the Tech Substrate Fanatics love to point to.



In my Uber-organic matter, "Toxic Ten" I just had my GBR's spawn.

I think the important thing is not to get hung up on the parts but, focus on the Aquarium as a whole system working in balance.
DogFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 05:38 PM   #14
Synyster1337
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 80
Default

6 bags of eco complete for a 55. My plants grow incredibly-well for a low-tech (no CO2 injection, no ferts) setup. I ran a bottle's worth of kent growth accelerator and liquid carbon for a while but I ran out and I've been too lazy to be bothered to get more yet lol
Synyster1337 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012