Opinion on Red Sea CO2 Reactor 500?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment

Old 01-01-2012, 08:35 AM   #1
cdsgo1974
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Smile

Opinion on Red Sea CO2 Reactor 500?

Hello,
I'm new to using pressurized CO2 and am using a simple CO2 diffuser for a 20 gallon tank. I was told that this is not the most effective way of diffusing CO2. I did some more research and came across the Red Sea CO2 Reactor 500. Has anyone used this? If so, has it made a big difference. Oh yeah, I'm using HOB for filtration so an inline atomizer/reactor is not an option at the moment until I get a canister filter.

cheers and Happy New Year!
cdsgo1974 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-01-2012, 03:07 PM   #2
mach_six
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)

Why not look into getting a co2 atomizer diffuser to replace the current one you use? They're much cheaper than the Red Sea and you don't need to power another device.
mach_six is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-01-2012, 03:15 PM   #3
wetworks
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mach_six View Post
Why not look into getting a co2 atomizer diffuser to replace the current one you use? They're much cheaper than the Red Sea and you don't need to power another device.
Good advice. Also, if I remember correctly, the Red Sea reactor requires a pump or a powerhead to push water through it, so be sure to add that into the equation.
Old 01-01-2012, 05:18 PM   #4
5BodyBlade
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (2/100%)