Another bba thread please help!!!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae

Old 12-26-2011, 05:22 AM   #1
Dixiedodge7369
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Another bba thread please help!!!

Hi I've been keeping fish for 20 years but I'm a planted aqurium newbie...
I have a black beard algea issue that takes over my Anubis and java ferns horribly and is starting to latch on to my amazon swords. A little bit on rocks and driftwood but not horrible. I've been reading everywhere trying to figure something out but I figured I'd just ask...
I have a 55g 78w of t5HO light 6500k 8000k bulbs that I keep on for about 8 hours. seachem fluorite substrate, pressurized co2 that I try and keep my drop checker greenish yellow. I keep fish so I don't want to kill them.. German and elec blue rams 4 plecos 4 panda cories and a couple misc fish. I dose 1/2tsp kno3 and 1/8tsp of kh2p04, k2so4 and 1/8plantex Csm+b on opposite days. 5 gallon daily water changes before I dose and about 25-50% weekly changes. I have a enemies canister filter and a power he'd so I have good circ.
About 2 months ago I tore the tank apart big water change pulled all the plants and such bleached everything non living. And dipped my plants in a 1-20 ratio of bleach water which got rid of all my bba tank looked perfect for a few weeks but it came back I've tryed peroxide with filters and lights off to try and keep it at bay but no luck... This time it's really bad.. I was thinking of adding excel but I wasn't sure if I could add it with mynco2 running? Any tips would be greatly appreciated thanks
Dixiedodge7369 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-26-2011, 07:13 AM   #2
VeeSe
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (8/100%)
Send a message via AIM to VeeSe Send a message via MSN to VeeSe