Algae Help Needed!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2011, 04:32 AM   #1
minipapio
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2
Default

Algae Help Needed!


Hey Y'all, I am in need of some really big help. I've been trying to start a planted aquarium for some time now and one problem leads to another and then to another and so on and so forth. My most cumbersome challenge has been this fuzzy algae that grows on the substrate, plants and the diffuser!

Currently, the pH is at 6.5 and KH at 5. I do routine water changes and am just lost... please help!

Here are some pictures of whats going on:
https://picasaweb.google.com/lrondue...eat=directlink
__________________
Trying to get a grasp of things,

LR
minipapio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-25-2011, 04:23 PM   #2
ghotifish
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 289
Default

Welcome to TPT!

Holy smokes! That's some serious algae! Your pH and KH are fairly insignificant. What matters is Light and CO2. I'm pretty confident from that photo that you've got too much light. Fix the light then hire yourself a troup of algae eaters to clean up the mess. Shrimp and ottos should help.

There are various other things that cold be contributing to your situation. Post all the details of your tank (equipment, water additives, substrate, flora, fauna, temperature, and anything else you can think of) then folks here can help you figure out ways to improve.

Good luck!
ghotifish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 06:38 PM   #3
Naekuh
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Naekuh's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 884
Default

do you have fish inside?

For now, i would nuke your tank with H2O2 without the fish in it..

like seriously get a big bottle and just DUMP it in.

But you would probably kill whatever u had inside the tank.
Naekuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 08:47 PM   #4
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

Tell us more about your set up. Diffuser sounds like you are using CO2 of some sort?? Light? Filtration, circulation, size and age of tank setup, fertilizing, substrate, flora and fauna?
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012