bmwguy525's Planted 20 Gallon - Neon tetras, otocinclus
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals

Old 11-20-2011, 08:32 PM   #1
bmwguy525
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

bmwguy525's Planted 20 Gallon - Neon tetras, otocinclus

I'm a beginner aquarium owner a flat out plant know-nothing. I knew right off the bat that I wanted a full live plant tank and that I was going to do a fishless cycle, but I didn't know I'd be putting this much time and effort into the plants alone

I only have a phone camera right now, so excuse the bad quality pictures.

I'm currently ending week 4. Here's a progression of my tank:

Week 1

Week 1, just starting to read about plants and plant caretaking, but I was too impatient to wait until I had fully learned. Went out and bought a few plants, rocks, and sand. I'd come to learn that sand is a horrible substrate for plants, but I wanted the black rock/white sand look, and I had no idea what it meant for planting.

Week 1 plant stock:
Java Fern - lace
Weeping Moss
Anacharis
Anubias

Week 2

Week 2 brought about a lot of reading and learning. I knew my tank had a long way to go before I liked it, and I wasn't even close to the aquascape I wanted in the end result. I went back to the LFS to pick up some more lava rock, and a few more plants. This time I grabbed some shorter stuff to hopefully have spread as a grass-like floor.

My moss was quite brown and the Java Fern lace was really hurting, but after the first 7 days I added a CO2 diffuser and a some food plant tablets to bury in the sand substrate.

Week 2 plant stock:
Java Fern - lace
Weeping Moss
Anacharis
Anubias
Crypt Parva
Compacta Sword
Short grass (?)
??? (Large plant in left corner, might be large Anubias?)

Week 3